CoolTVGuide Help

aradialk

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Hi there,
I am a newbie can someone assist with guide on how to install cooltv 7.3 on TM-Twin Oe running 4D image.
r
Rgds
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,813
Reaction score
12,448
Ive created your own thread for you

FTP the IPK file to tmp folder and install via receiver in software manager :)
 

aradialk

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Yes it has the 6.4 but not working asking me to download the new version from cooltv website which I did and ftp it into the temp folder and Rat says I should install through the sw.manager where is this located
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,813
Reaction score
12,448
I dont know on 4D images have a browse through menus :)
 

Ferret

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
12,944
Reaction score
6,939
Location
Yorkshire Born & Bred Leeds !
Yes it has the 6.4 but not working asking me to download the new version from cooltv website which I did and ftp it into the temp folder and Rat says I should install through the sw.manager where is this located
You could install it via telnet with the over write command if you know how to use telnet use this command.

opkg update && opkg install -force-overwrite /tmp/*.ipk
 

Abu Baniaz

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,288
Reaction score
2,457
Location
East London
Which image version are you on (as in date)? There was a 4D image released a few days ago.

Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
Download site with no links to retailers/other forum.
 

aradialk

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Hi there,
After ftp the downloaded 7.3 .ipk file into the temp folder then use the DCC telnet screen to enter the command -force-overwrite /tmp/*.ipk but returned not found error.
 

Ferret

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
12,944
Reaction score
6,939
Location
Yorkshire Born & Bred Leeds !
Hi there,
After ftp the downloaded 7.3 .ipk file into the temp folder then use the DCC telnet screen to enter the command -force-overwrite /tmp/*.ipk but returned not found error.
Reboot box router and ftp it in again to the tmp folder and try again.
 

kegnkiwi

DW Regular +
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
1,228
Reaction score
487
On 4d image ftp to temp. then menu, set up, software management, then install local extension.
 

aradialk

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Hi there,
Thanks. ftp the .ipk file then sw.management >> install local extension it came up with the following and the cooltv plugin still showing 6.4. is there any other way of the plugin can update itself

1. wdc wd500aads-5 /media/hdd
2.Internal flash
3.Memory /tmp
 

kegnkiwi

DW Regular +
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
1,228
Reaction score
487
click on 3, memory/tmp and the file you sent over in theory should be in there, click on it and then select install (green button I think). Then reboot your box and it should have updated.

(I have just tried to get a screen grab on my box with latest 4d image and there is an issue with installng a ipk)
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,813
Reaction score
12,448
Do you have a backup of your image ? always helps when things go wrong :)

Try removing old CooTvGuide first reboot then install new one, if using software manager dont work tey what ferret suggested
opkg update && opkg install -force-overwrite /tmp/*.ipk

I take it others have the newest version installed and working just to confirm it works ? I know what this team are like for breaking things
 

aradialk

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
I click on 3 and it's empty despite the fact that file is still in the tmp/ folder when I checked. After ftp the .ipk file into the folder is there anything else I am meant to do before the install local extension.

ferret, being a newbie please confirm if the whole line is the command for the telnet option.

# opkg update && opkg install -force-overwrite /tmp/*.ipk OR
# -force-overwrite /tmp/*.ipk
 
Last edited:

aradialk

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Hi there,
Thanks everyone, what do I do next it now says the following;

Done - Installed, upgrade or remove 0 packages (with 0 errors) what do I do next
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,813
Reaction score
12,448
check its installed ? ;)
press menu and plugins see what version you have
 

Ferret

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
12,944
Reaction score
6,939
Location
Yorkshire Born & Bred Leeds !
Hi there,
Thanks everyone, what do I do next it now says the following;

Done - Installed, upgrade or remove 0 packages (with 0 errors) what do I do next
By the look of that it installed nothing, something the image does not like no idea what.

The overwrite command should of installed it.

Do you have space to install this ?
 

ketmp

Satellite Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
2,518
Reaction score
1,477
Ferret, meant have you free space on your box to install it.

From telnet if you type
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.

and that will display details of space you have left on box.

I'm surprised you got message:

Done - Installed, upgrade or remove 0 packages (with 0 errors)

as you normally only get that message when installed via image menus and not via telnet commands (or at least on my box) :)


 
TEST
Top