Internal Splitter?

Bally12345

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,527
Reaction score
721
I have a Sky Mini Dish with quad-lnb 2 feeds going to living room for Sky HD and 1 feed going to master bedroom and another into the other bedroom room but would like a feed in the dining room too but no space left on lnb.

Could I take the feed going into the living room and use some sort of splitter and send signal to dining room or will I have to upgrade to octo-lnb?
 

DiamondGeezer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
3,002
Reaction score
166
Location
Bangalore
Don't think you can split it the only thing that might work rather than using a octo lnb is one of those sky eye splitters - just google ebay sky eye
 

Bally12345

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,527
Reaction score
721
Doesnt the Sky eye spliiter only send the RF signal from the same box so no seperate STB.
 

MFCGMFC

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
7,052
Reaction score
76
You will need an Octo lnb mate each box needs it's own feed from the dish

Can pick them up quite cheaply the now, seen one for £15 not too long ago

Cheers
MFCGAVMFC
 

glic83

DW Regular
Joined
May 28, 2007
Messages
1,970
Reaction score
41
Location
cork,Ireland
thats correc,t id say go for the octo lnb mate plus will give you a few more options if you upgrade in the future
 

Bally12345

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,527
Reaction score
721
Seems a bit too much hassle for adding only one extra feed.

Only need it for cheap freesat box in dining room on old 32" CRT Toshiba
 

Bally12345

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,527
Reaction score
721
Apprantly I do, but if I look on ebay theres loads of sky signal splitters that look the same as the cable splitters so dont know if it will work until I try it.
 

pinkhelmets

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 10, 2001
Messages
5,187
Reaction score
174
Location
essex colchester-ipswich
It will work as long as you dont have 2 receivers switched on at the same time that are connected to that splitter.
My parents had this problem at their home recently. Lounge, Entertainment-room, Bed1, Bed3(kids room) had the main 4 feeds and they wanted another in the dining/kitchen.

So rather than get an octo I cheated to cut corners and split the Bed1 so it went to kitchen too. Its not the best or proper way to do things, but if you keep only one satellite box on then it works fine. If you switch both receivers on (kitchen & bed1) then over half of the channels will not work (and you chance causing damage to the receivers). It works for my parents as they never need both the kitchen & bed1 tv at the same time.

Tbh though, i agree with all thats said above, get an octo lol. I will do it at my parents one day because they also need a feed for bed2 rather than run an rf loop from the lounge. So they need 6 now, but thats without having sky+ anywhere... octo's arent even enough these days :)
 

Bally12345

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8,527
Reaction score
721
Why dont you get a freeview box instaed ?? Why has it got to be freesat ??

Because with freesat when you tune in non-freesat mode you get 100s of extra channels :proud:
 
TEST
Top