SupHub as Primary DDwrt as Secondary Router

wenglishboy

DW Member +
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
938
Reaction score
98
Location
a pigsty
so I have setup my virg as a primary and a ddwrt router as secondary with vpn configured as udp. however I am unable to access inet even though im getting connection success on vpn status on secondary. I have them on two different subnets. any ideas?
 
Last edited:

wenglishboy

DW Member +
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
938
Reaction score
98
Location
a pigsty
sorry about the abruptness of last msg. I wrote a long in depth one but my bloody grandchild was here and wiped it with a click of a button. primary (virg sup hub) has been instructed by way of mac filtering to automatically issue my secondary (ddwrt) an ip address of 192.168.0.2. I have placed this (temporary) in the dmz and again (temporary) disabled all firewalls to avoid any conflict and hopefully make it easier to resolve any issues. the primary is instructed to issue ip address 192.168.0.1 to 50 while the secondary is issuing from 51 to 100. the secondary is on a subnet of 192.168.1.1. I can access inet through primary but not through secondary even though vpn connection status exists on the secondary. I am on a paid service with NORD so not a dodgy free vpn account. any help is very much appreciated.
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,499
Reaction score
1,545
Have you put the Superhub into modem mode?
Sorry not had time to read the entire post but from what i have read i had a similar problem with using a asus router with the hub...vpn worked fine after i put the hub into modem mode.
 

wenglishboy

DW Member +
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
938
Reaction score
98
Location
a pigsty
I was hoping to just have 2 home networks. Vpn on one router which has limited inet access to me and the wife granted to it from the primary super hub which all the children have access to. I’m trying to deny the children access to porn as my 17 yr old lad is bashing his bishop for fun at the moment and I hate picking his socks up off his bedroom floor the lazy bstrd needs to learn a lesson. Not only that I want to access kodi upstairs in my bedroom where wireless signal is poor.
 

fus10n

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
1,093
Reaction score
794
I was hoping to just have 2 home networks. Vpn on one router which has limited inet access to me and the wife granted to it from the primary super hub which all the children have access to. I’m trying to deny the children access to porn as my 17 yr old lad is bashing his bishop for fun at the moment and I hate picking his socks up off his bedroom floor the lazy bstrd needs to learn a lesson. Not only that I want to access kodi upstairs in my bedroom where wireless signal is poor.

Virgin media have there own parental filters for free.


Another Idea would be to create a guest network on your Superhub and restrict access to dodgy sites and times its available on that. Leave the main wifi for you and the wife and either disable the SSID or don't give out the wifi password.


You'd find it easier to put the superhub in modem mode and use the wrt router to do all you want as it has more functionality.....
 
Last edited:

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,110
Reaction score
509
@wenglishboy

You can have 2 home networks as long as you can have additional routes on your Virg media router.

So you have access to the internet via Virg router but not on the VPN router?

If you login to the VPN router can you reach the internet directly from it? try using just IP. e.g ping 8.8.8.8.
If so have you confirmed that the router has packet forwarding enabled and that the hosts on the VPN network are getting the correct default gateway and DNS settings?
 

jfish

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
2,923
Reaction score
518
is the LAN cable from VM SH goes into WAN port of the DDWRT

With this you are double NAT'ing which will work

the ddwrt WAN will be on the VM subnet 192.168.0.1/24 and DDWRT LAN is on subnet 192.168.1.1

as for stopping your son bashing away, look at settings up PiHole on a Raspberry Pi - will block all adult sites and other dodgy sites
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
4,500
Reaction score
2,663
Location
nr.Cov.... pure n*l
as for stopping your son bashing away, look at settings up PiHole on a Raspberry Pi - will block all adult sites and other dodgy sites
I managed to abuse myself as a teenager and there was no such thing as the internet. My imagination knew no bounds.
The only way a Raspberry Pi might stop a 17yr old lad is to fit a camera to it 😂
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,110
Reaction score
509
Pi-hole by default will not block XXX sites you need to add the XXX blacklists.

also if he has a phone he can just use his mobile data to get around it.
 

calisto

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2006
Messages
1,179
Reaction score
161
is the LAN cable from VM SH goes into WAN port of the DDWRT

With this you are double NAT'ing which will work

the ddwrt WAN will be on the VM subnet 192.168.0.1/24 and DDWRT LAN is on subnet 192.168.1.1

as for stopping your son bashing away, look at settings up PiHole on a Raspberry Pi - will block all adult sites and other dodgy sites
I have been trying to do this, can see my DDWRT router through my superhub page on 192.168.0.1 but when I type in my DDWRT router IP address, just get unable to connect or time out. I would like to run the DDWRT router to my Kodi setup & smart tv with a VPN running. Any help please?
 

Curious123

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
1,871
Reaction score
52
Last year I had my VM SH set up as described by jfish going into my TP-LinkAc60 but I had problems getting it to work until I disconnected the cable from WAN port of the TP-Link and connected it to the LAN port TP-Link. If you are using two routers on one network then you will need to make sure you disable the DHCP from the second router assuming you are using DHCP. I also reserved 192.168.0.2 in the first router as the ip address of the second router so that I could connect to the second router otherwise it keeps going to the first router.
 
TEST
Top