new external hd?

dandare

Inactive User
Reaction score
hey folks i'm looking to buy a new external hd to back up my images from my comp, i'm a photographer so have loads. my comp is a few years old and starting to play up a bit so i want ot get it sorted before it totally goes on me. i was reading somewhere that folk back up with new hd's evry 2/3 years as thats the rough life span, is this correct?
anyhoos i've seen a few, western digital/freecom 500gb ranging from £70-150 are there any certain specifications i should be looking for? i've never had to back up stuff yet, so am a little unsure about it all. i've still got the smell of photo chemicals on me if ye know what i mean.
ta

hey folks i'm looking to buy a new external hd to back up my images from my comp, i'm a photographer so have loads. my comp is a few years old and starting to play up a bit so i want ot get it sorted before it totally goes on me. i was reading somewhere that folk back up with new hd's evry 2/3 years as thats the rough life span, is this correct?
anyhoos i've seen a few, western digital/freecom 500gb ranging from £70-150 are there any certain specifications i should be looking for? i've never had to back up stuff yet, so am a little unsure about it all. i've still got the smell of photo chemicals on me if ye know what i mean.
ta

You got to remember that hard disks can go at anytime. Companies like Seagate offer 5 year warranty but does not mean that they can't fail before that time. Once you get the new drive then I would get into the habit of backing up weekly or even daily, especially if your lively hood depends on the data. I would say that I expect disks to start failing either in the first 6 months and then a after 3/4 years.

As for the actual hardware there are a couple of options,