• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

how do you identify tomtom model

Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
365
Likes
2
#1
Hi,

I know it might sound a bit atrange, But how do you identify that what is the model of unit. I mean if it is go 300, or go 500, or go 510,....

The fact is I have been asked by a relative to update his maps and stuff on his TT. I feel a bit stupid to ring him and ask about it (one of those things). I looked around the unit but didn't find anything. One of the lables got a code like Go (04D00) and nothing else.

I would appreciate if someone could help.

Also he says that sometimes his TT start calculating route to somewhere that he doen't know anything about, even in middle of his journey.

Thanks
Hoss
 

edogg

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
4,055
Likes
47
#2
turn the tomtom on and touch the screen on the blue bit where the time is displayed bottm right the touch the screen where it says version bottom right top left it will say tomtom go and the model number the rest is device number application number map version number
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
365
Likes
2
#3
hi,

and thanks for reply,
it just says TomTom Go on top left hand corner, under that is device id, and next line is the app version. next to this it say "OS:3024"
then about amount of ram
GPS v1.21, boot 5.4106
then map version.

so which one specify the model, is it OS or the Boot

thanks
Hoss
 

lincsat

Member ++
Joined
Aug 11, 2005
Messages
628
Likes
8
#4
Even the machines don't know what they are - mine came in a box that says Go510, tap the screen, it says it's a Go710 :)
 

edogg

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
4,055
Likes
47
#5
hi,

and thanks for reply,
it just says TomTom Go on top left hand corner, under that is device id, and next line is the app version. next to this it say "OS:3024"
then about amount of ram
GPS v1.21, boot 5.4106
then map version.

so which one specify the model, is it OS or the Boot

thanks
Hoss
I'm sorry then I can't help because my 720 says tomtom go720 so i assumed they all would have their model number in that place, also when i turn mine on with it already connected to my lappy after it asks connect to computer answer yes and when it is connected you should have TOMTOM GO model number on the top of the screen ( top right on mine)
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
365
Likes
2
#6
Hi

And thanks for reply,
No worries mate. Even when I connect it to PC it just says TomTom Go and nothing else. I was hopping to see some info in device manager (on PC), but nothing more than TomTom Go.

Any way I managed to get it up and running on TT7.481 and map version 715. I am going to try it out today to see if still got that problem of keep jumping to different pages while travelling and calculating route to somewhere without been asked to.

Thanks for your help anyway
Hoss