Are Indian Channels Available FTA??

qwertyasdfg

VIP Member
VIP Member
Reaction score
Afternoon All,

I'm new to the Satellite scene and have been asked by one of my neighbours if I could set-up a system for him cos he's had enough of Sly and noticed when he was at his cuzin's house up north that he had a motorised dish and a dm500s which he was getting all the channels he needed without paying a sub!! A professional installed the kit for his cuzin and charged him quite a packet, I been doing some reading and was hoping for some direction before I commit myself to helping the neighbour out, may even be a good educational experience for me considering the way the nthell scene is going!

The channels my neighbour is after are:- star plus, star news, zee tv, b4u, sony max and colors primarily, also any channels that'll show the fottie and cricket would be a bonus too. I found the most commonly viewed in the UK are on the Astra 2/Eurobird 1 at 28.2 East and Hotbird at 13 East satellites.
I however found it hard to determine whether we could pick these channels he wants for free or would one need to buy a card to de-crypt these channels??? I read something about cams too which i found rather confusing :s

Would anyone be able to tell me if its possible to pick up the above mentioned channels for FREE using a motorised dish and dreambox or a technomate???