• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

which cpu??

seanicca

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
2,235
Likes
26
#1
which 1 of these 2 would people recommend?

intel e2180 or the amd athlon 64 x2 4400+

lookin at upgrading pc to dual core but unsure which to get, any advice/info appreciated
 

MFCGMFC

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
7,052
Likes
76
#2
ATM intel chips are kicking amd's ass don't know why but they are better vaule for money

OMFG i sound like an intel fanboy (;))

Cheers
MFCGAVMFC
 

fizsparky

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
1,167
Likes
8
#3
Yes, go with the Intel.

My answers based on experience with Intel, brilliant performance as always...

Regards,
Fizsparky.
 

Curly

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 31, 2007
Messages
3,734
Likes
115
#5
The Core2Quad Q6600 is dirt cheap now, and Quad core too boot!
This is what's inside my pc
Intel® Core™2 Quad Q6600 (2.4GHz 1066 MHz FSB 8MB Cache)

If you ever encode a downloaded film to dvd, this does it in a fraction of the time!

Curly
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Likes
103
#6
The E2180 is much more over-clockable. You should be able to get around 3GHz using the standard cooler. Though the 1MB cache does hold it back a bit.


Unless you are on a really tight budget, think about spending the extra money and get a Core2 CPU, there are Core2 Duo on flee bay as people upgrade to quad core. Something like a E6400 tends to go for around £40.
 

MFCGMFC

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
7,052
Likes
76
#7
i've got teh E4500 in my box and its great and hugely overclockable :)

Cheers
MFCGAVMFC
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Likes
293
#8
Intel for me. AMD has had it's day in the sun.

I'm still running an old AMD64 3400
 

digicol

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
1,800
Likes
40
#10
The e2180 is a beast with it's 10x multiplier, meaning you can get extreme overclocks with weak ram and a weak board.

The 1mb cache is not much of a problem, you may lost a few frames in high end gaming but nothing that you will really notice. But it is still more than the AMD anyway, so a much better buy.
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Likes
103
#11
amd, the new Phenom are actually very good
Everything I have seen says that Intel beats it on everything using cost for cost basis on speed, power consumption and overclock-ability.

Apparently the ATI chip set is not so hot and is holding it back as well.
 

seanicca

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
2,235
Likes
26
#12
cheers for the replies, went to bowlers this morning and decided on the intel system
 

Curly

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 31, 2007
Messages
3,734
Likes
115
#13
What did you end up getting then m8??

Do they still charge £4 to get in Bowlers??? I've not been for ages.

Curly
 

seanicca

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
2,235
Likes
26
#14
What did you end up getting then m8??

Do they still charge £4 to get in Bowlers??? I've not been for ages.

Curly
ended up getting a e2200, 2gb ram, gigabyte mobo, 250gb sata hdd all in a nice black case, cheeky ba$tards tried fobbing me off with a cheaper mbo at first till i pointed it out and said i wanted the gigabyte one and they changed it so all ok cost £170 which i was happy with for what i use it for, entry is £3compared to the last time i went about 12months ago half the stalls are empty but you can still find what you want