Updating entitlements

Mark_The_Yid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
281
My entitlements run out in 8 days and I have emms turned off in cccam due to current situatuation with cards being unpaired. I have put the card back in the original box it is paired with to update the entitlements and left it in for 1 hour but they did not update. I then put it back in for over 3 hours and same thing they have not updated. Am I supposed to do anything to get them to update? Thought you just put it back in paired box for a bit.
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Reaction score
106
Location
Who knows !
You have to appreciate that there are literally millions of customer cards that get updated over the course of a three month cycle so the particular Emm's required for your card may only get transmitted once every few days.

Generally, update Emm's to a certain card will be given preference (in terms of repeat rate and delay) for a certain period before slowly becoming less and less active in the stream.

Basically, you need to leave your card in-stream for at least a 24 hour period before starting to panic !
 

Mark_The_Yid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
281
thanks for that reply m8. I'm gonna be a very unpopular person in my family if I turn them off for 24 hours though! lol. Tempted to risk turning the emms back on in cccam.
 

thfccambs

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
208
Reaction score
4
Yep should really be left for 24hrs, i had the problem a month or so ago when the cards went of. Just called sky and told them i'd been decorating so box was unplugged, sent out a signal and card was back. Now i've gone from CCcam 214 to 213 and card seems to be fine again in my DM.

Touch wood.
 

swanside

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 9, 2005
Messages
464
Reaction score
6
My entitlements run out in 8 days and I have emms turned off in cccam due to current situatuation with cards being unpaired. I have put the card back in the original box it is paired with to update the entitlements and left it in for 1 hour but they did not update. I then put it back in for over 3 hours and same thing they have not updated. Am I supposed to do anything to get them to update? Thought you just put it back in paired box for a bit.

I have had mine in my Dm since Around January I think, and it updates fine with the EMM turned on and two shares in the house.
 

Mark_The_Yid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
281
Call me a pussy but I decided I cant brave the wrath of my Nan with no telly for 24 hours so I have turned on emms in cccam again and took a chance. 24 hours later cccam shows

Total handled client emm's: 3

However the entitlements date is the same. I have no dish connected to my server so I am relying on receiving them from another receiver that is on my network at home.

Is it right to show that it has handled emms without updating the entitlements?
 

swanside

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 9, 2005
Messages
464
Reaction score
6
It should update when it has EMM's coming through, but, only when they are sent to update the card, otherwise, everybodys cards in all the boxes would be receiving updates all the time. It might have sent out the new entitlements for your card, but, as it was not allowed to update, it has missed the sequence.
Pop it back into your own box, remove the box from the phone line and ring them up, give them some story about your box has gone off, they will tell you to put it onto a particular channel, and send an emm to the card. I did that when my card went off completely, I used the multi-room card and just put it back into the box, but left the phone line out, updated within a few mins, then put it back into my DM
 

Mark_The_Yid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
281
what message should I tell them it is saying on the screen when not clearing m8? they are bound to ask lol
 

swanside

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 9, 2005
Messages
464
Reaction score
6
For your information.

This is the wrong card for this Set top box
Insert the correct Sky viewing card
Call 08702 404040 for assistance.

They should repair the card to the box then and send out the emm's
image016.jpg
 

digital worldz

DW Member +
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
325
Reaction score
40
Just to let you know, done mine in original receiver and it took 36 hours or theres about.

Up to date till 6/8 now
 

g33za

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
174
Reaction score
3
I think i'm gonna be in the same boat in a few weeks time, mark did your update in the DM or in the original box?
 

swanside

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 9, 2005
Messages
464
Reaction score
6
Just looked at mine, and updated to 20-08, with two clients sending emms, and cccam2.1.4 on a dm500
 

g33za

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
174
Reaction score
3
Just looked at mine, and updated to 20-08, with two clients sending emms, and cccam2.1.4 on a dm500

Thanks, i'm running 2.1.3 so gives me some confidence to try it back on the DM.
 

g33za

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
174
Reaction score
3
Well I updated my card after leaving it in the original box for about 36 hours.
 

davido

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
141
Reaction score
3
mine update no problem in dm500 with cccam...
 

Mark_The_Yid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
281
I think i'm gonna be in the same boat in a few weeks time, mark did your update in the DM or in the original box?

got up on sunday morning and saw that it had handled 3 more emms. Thought might be good news. Had a quick look at the entitlements and thought fook it no luck. Put the card back in orig box and called sly. They sent signal and I put it back in DM.

When I checked entitlements It was the same ................. not.

On closer inspection 28-6-10 was now 26-8-10. Thing is the more I think about it the more I am sure it was that b4 I phoned sly. Makes me a bit of a plank I think :)
 

ToneDeff

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
996
Reaction score
41
Location
127.0.0.1
I have emms turned off in cccam due to current situatuation with cards being unpaired.

pretty sure there's no point in having EMM's disabled for this if your using just cccam, when it happened i remember reading people who had EMM's disabled in cccam were also getting hit.
 

g33za

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
174
Reaction score
3
pretty sure there's no point in having EMM's disabled for this if your using just cccam, when it happened i remember reading people who had EMM's disabled in cccam were also getting hit.

I've been reading this also but I've also been reading that the cccam needs to have the emm disabled in a couple of places. I'm currently running cccam 2.1.3 on a dm500c and i've been checking fairly regularly and no emm updates are taking place.
 
TEST
Top