Sony TV's running on android (IP CONTROL)

Mick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 19, 1999
Messages
32,072
Reaction score
8,815
Slightly old news but for those that don't know

Looks like the new SONY TV's are running on Android.

Very clever move, as they will have full IP control meaning you can use remotes and TECH to turn them off and on...

this has always been a problem with televisions because of the energy issues with leaving them on.

Basically, to use smart remotes and technology you would normally have an emitter attached to the bottom of the television, this is one way communication, how do you know its off? Yes its been sent the IR command to turn it off but is it off ???

With IP control this is two way, the tech you are using to control the television, IE control 4, Savant, RTI, etc. etc. etc. They will all know that the television is actually off and better still your fancy remote can actually see what you are watching and the level of volume etc.


It also means they will run KODI without the need for anything else.




How well they will process it I do not know, but having the internal circuitry directly run from it without third party equipment must have speed, lagging benefits, I would guess?

Just thought I would let you all know if you are buying a new television, look at sony they have done what the others should of done, lets see who follows on :)

Mick
 
Last edited:

rawsy

DW F1 Champ 2010, 14, 19 and 20
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
5,912
Reaction score
1,995
Location
Leeds
I got one just before Xmas and am very happy. The app on the phone is very good. The the remote is ok but there is some lag for some reason. It has voice control so I think it is just when the blutooth is connecting.
Kodi runs brilliantly on it and the 4K is amazing. Would defiantly recommend one.
They arnt with out issues though all4 and 5od only work if youview is enabled. The problem is youview disables a few features like recording freeview and having the ability to control sky or virgin. It's a pain but t I'm happy all in all.
 
Last edited:

casuk

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
2,136
Reaction score
436
Got a link to the TV I'm thinking of a new TV was going to go for a panny as I like the one I already have but intrested in the kodi built in

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
 

digi247

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
3,308
Reaction score
2,456
I do hope the later models are better 'Processor' wise than around 12 months ago as i had to sort a customers out due to it keep losing Freeview all the time and to do a hard reset took nearly 10 minutes, it was also painfully slow navigating around almost like the crap MXQ boxes
 

trevortron

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2013
Messages
3,011
Reaction score
3,833
Location
Algarve, Portugal
I do hope the later models are better 'Processor' wise than around 12 months ago as i had to sort a customers out due to it keep losing Freeview all the time and to do a hard reset took nearly 10 minutes, it was also painfully slow navigating around almost like the crap MXQ boxes

Lag not limited to Sonys, a couple of customers have LG smarts & they are painfully slow too. Not easy explaining this to an OAP!
 

Gwyn1

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
196
Reaction score
93
@rawsy,
Another problem with using youview, which really annoys me is that it removes the ability to watch ANY sat programmes on the inbuilt sat tuner.
Contacted Sony Service about the problem, and their recommendation was to buy a stand alone Sat box and connect via HDMI port !!!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

digi247

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
3,308
Reaction score
2,456
Lag not limited to Sonys, a couple of customers have LG smarts & they are painfully slow too. Not easy explaining this to an OAP!

I have last years OLED with OS3.0 and although LG dont use Android at all i have no complaints with mine its snappy and loads the usual catch-up apps pretty quickly, I know LG,Samsung and Panasonic started introducing so called Quad core processors into the TV builds which helps a little.

Although saying that i have a small Samsung LCD around 2 years old and that supposedly has Quad core processing but does not feel as fast as my current LG, i suppose the more you spend on the TV the better specification as with the Sonys i wall mounted a 75" Model last summer for a customer and the Android OS on that model was very quick indeed, A lot faster than the older model anyhow
 

rawsy

DW F1 Champ 2010, 14, 19 and 20
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
5,912
Reaction score
1,995
Location
Leeds
@rawsy,
Another problem with using youview, which really annoys me is that it removes the ability to watch ANY sat programmes on the inbuilt sat tuner.
Contacted Sony Service about the problem, and their recommendation was to buy a stand alone Sat box and connect via HDMI port !!!

Youview is a nice idea but all the licensing it entails wrecks the features. I do wish it could be removed completely . I see no reason if it isn't used to be able to use your on demand apps, and don't see why you have to choose between things either.

Shame, I have it disabled and apart from some od stuff everything else is brilliant with the set imo

I may look for a root os in the future when I'm not so twitchy about the warrenty lol
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rawsy

DW F1 Champ 2010, 14, 19 and 20
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
5,912
Reaction score
1,995
Location
Leeds
I found disabling a couple of services helped speed everything up.
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
 
TEST
Top