Other PC clock

Joe Noodles

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
1,244
Likes
868
#1
Whats up with my clock on the PC
It keeps changing its time and I reset it but then in hour or so it goes back to a wrong time
date & time is correct when I set
Just done it again from 12:09 to 3:09 but in a while it will go backwards lol :Boo:
any suggestion`s?
clock.png
 

Joe Noodles

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
1,244
Likes
868
#4
Time zone is correct
Its saying its 3:34 now lol
will check out the CMOS battery in a bit.
 

manic01

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2008
Messages
12,597
Likes
32
#5
If time zone is correct, and cmos battery ends up being ok then it's more likely a virus.
My monies on cmos battery.
 

buzzer

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
8,196
Likes
227
#8
if your doing full scans, you instal dodgy shit.. ;)
my money is on a virus.. :)

should i open a bookie event?lol
 

avid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2004
Messages
2,075
Likes
865
#9
The cmos battery can also alter the date. If the the time is altering while the computer is switched on I don't think it would be the cmos battery. Have you scanned for malware with Malwarebytes or Spybot. I have also heard corrupt file within the operating system can cause it.
 
Last edited:

Joe Noodles

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
1,244
Likes
868
#10
Not had a chance yet to open it up yet to check the cmos battery but will do as soon as I can
Time & Date are still wrong today
Did a full scan in safe mode with anti virus and malware-bytes both found nothing.
PS its not dodgy copy of win7 you cheeky fooker you : spank :(Ratts) lol
 

Ratts

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
4,367
Likes
110
#12
Not had a chance yet to open it up yet to check the cmos battery but will do as soon as I can
Time & Date are still wrong today
Did a full scan in safe mode with anti virus and malware-bytes both found nothing.
PS its not dodgy copy of win7 you cheeky fooker you : spank :(Ratts) lol
lol :)

ive never had a cmos battery go down, some are soldered in. but I have had to reset cmos in the past, try this 1st .
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,938
Likes
933
#14
All my clocks and my watch autoupdated apart from one. My pc has an Asus ROG front base which didn't change, can't remember it not doing that before. I thought it just updated from the pc but obviously not so will uninstall/reinstall it.
The cpu frequency clock has never worked on it anyway so a bit of googling and I will try again.
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,938
Likes
933
#15
Well, bugger me sideways o_O First time in 4 years of building this pc my front panel is up and fully working. Wouldn't have bothered if the time had changed on it, lol.
The frequency seems to sit around .800 but spikes up to between 4-4.4ghz every now and then. Ties in with what cpu-Z used to tell me anyway.

IMG_0269.JPG
 
TEST
Top