• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Getting Broadband Help needed

liambalfour

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
1,205
Likes
10
#1
Hi, my girlfriend bought a laptop and is getting virginmedia broadband installed. She wants to use it wirelessly, would virginmedia give her a wireless modem or would she need a router?? she doesnt have a pc so dont relly know what to do. Any ideas?

I have wireless with my pc hardwired and a laptop wireless but cant think how hers would work with a moden and router not conected to a pc any help would be apreciated.
 

smirnoff_rules

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
13,215
Likes
224
#2
Hi, my girlfriend bought a laptop and is getting virginmedia broadband installed. She wants to use it wirelessly, would virginmedia give her a wireless modem or would she need a router?? she doesnt have a pc so dont relly know what to do. Any ideas?

I have wireless with my pc hardwired and a laptop wireless but cant think how hers would work with a moden and router not conected to a pc any help would be apreciated.
u will need a router m8 just plug the cable into the router from the modem and search for the signal and away u go . have a cheap one if u want it , pm me
 

gazz10

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
613
Likes
9
#3
am sure if she was to cancel her order prior to ordering the internet saying she was getting wireless router cheaper package elswere virgin would better it, i have already did that i was 75 for 10mb tv and phone(unlimited calls) am now 45, as i said i was going to sky..


So chances are your g/f is with virgin the now probably the phone and even tv, if so i would give her to give them a call say your cancelling as got better offer from sky and i bet they will offer you the right package that includes the wireless router for a fraction of the cost.
 

liambalfour

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
1,205
Likes
10
#4
" have a cheap one if u want it , pm me"
they are quite cheap just now and i like to have a guaruntee with things but thanks for the offer and help
 

liambalfour

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
1,205
Likes
10
#5
The broadband has now been installed and is working fine but I cant get things to download, she has vista home but when using bitlord it connects but never downloads and the same with ares, any ideas
 

mike557

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 1, 2006
Messages
33
Likes
0
#6
That sounds like firewall problems.
You will probably need to setup some port forwarding or put the laptop onto a DMZ if the router supports it.