Ethernet cable

notanotherone

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
2,400
Reaction score
49
Location
landofnevernever
Heres one for yous?i have been reading some of the very excellent "How To"on the site regarding flashing i think i have finnally got my head around it but i was wondering when i connect the ethernet cable to my computer i take it this means that my broadband no longer is connected?or should there be 2 ethernet cable connections at the rear of my computer?

: thanks :
 

JIMMYQ

DW Regular
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
27
Location
DW
normally just the one and you will have to disconnect your broadband if you have only one
 

The_RaVeN

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 8, 2005
Messages
94
Reaction score
0
NIC's dont cost a lot (-£10)

so best bet is to invest in one,
saves unplugging your BB cable all the time then.

Respect
 

JIMMYQ

DW Regular
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
27
Location
DW
The_RaVeN said:
NIC's dont cost a lot (-£10)
so best bet is to invest in one,
saves unplugging your BB cable all the time then.
Respect


thats what ive done :)
 

notanotherone

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
2,400
Reaction score
49
Location
landofnevernever
doh !now youve got me ,am a newbie (and thick as a brick)what is an NIC???is that like and a double connection?
 

IANB

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
13,645
Reaction score
7,279
Location
somewhere cold
Network interface card
fits in the expansion slot of the pc comes with software to configure it.
You can then set it up for your dbox ip settings.
That way you dont have to unplug and reconfigure everytime you want to log on to the dbox.
Well worth doing.
 

fermec

Member ++
Joined
Sep 13, 2005
Messages
304
Reaction score
4
Location
Manchester
It would be better to invest in a router, a 4 port router would do for you that way you can connect 4 devices to the internet at the same time.

You can get one for around £35 - £40


Fermec
 

dibbers

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
May 18, 2005
Messages
11,797
Reaction score
1,387
Location
Ipswhich
connect you cable modem via usb if you can then use your nic for the box....
 
TEST
Top