Cloned modem random discconects?

Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,804
Likes
2
#1
Ello well like me modem i cloned last night keeps randomly disconnecting i had a 1meg mac that was fine last nigh then when i turned it all on this morning it keeps like freezing now im using a 2mbit mac and same thing? it doesnt lose the ip tho.... like just freezes and disconnects everything for a about 20 secs then it works again weird lol :D reckon its just the mac im using like?:Cheers:
 

L33tpL4y4

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
1,097
Likes
1
#2
b3nnyb0y said:
Ello well like me modem i cloned last night keeps randomly disconnecting i had a 1meg mac that was fine last nigh then when i turned it all on this morning it keeps like freezing now im using a 2mbit mac and same thing? it doesnt lose the ip tho.... like just freezes and disconnects everything for a about 20 secs then it works again weird lol :D reckon its just the mac im using like?:Cheers:
macs deff not on your gateway? if not it could be a signal problem being to low m8
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,804
Likes
2
#4
No its direct to the modem like me routers unplugged till i fix this modem and it stays online like uhm how do icheck if its in ym gateway m8 i dunno if it is or isnt lol i just found it with dchpforce.....
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,804
Likes
2
#6
im back on me subbed modem now like coz its pishing me off lol keep cutting out some nice speeds tho i maged a speed test like 400kbs :D
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2005
Messages
605
Likes
4
#7
etherael

definately your hfc mac adress your usin.....someone near you (or that adress is from near you) has the same hfc mac..i have seen this problem about ten times now and in my experience changing the hfc will fix the problem

if you are having trouble with dhcp force i suggest using a program called ethereal and this tutorial that i will post hear... has worked for me many times all in different areas...


SEE DOWNLOADS FOR TUTORIOL
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,804
Likes
2
#9
Like this is my first modem i just decided to give it a try it got a 1meg mac working last night like but i want a 3mbit one as im on 2mbit anyways.. im after a 10meg mac as its out on ntl now lol :D
 

thomson

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
3,495
Likes
7
#10
from my experience's with the modem connecting then disconnecting every few seconds it was cause of the mac, get more mac's mate, maybe from another area than the ones you are trying :)
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,804
Likes
2
#11
ok sweet ;@) thanks i thought i broke the modem like lol cool ;) thanks i hope i get a nice 3meg mac ;p
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,804
Likes
2
#12
it was coz i had no like F connector on one end of me coax and the signal kept dropping lol and i also got some macs from a a guy off here like a bit further away ;@) thanks for your help also etherreal looks a lot better than dchpforce i wouldnt reccomend for n00bs tho coz it looks a bit daunting but easy to use :D
 
TEST
Top