Car diagnostic software

Munkey

Inactive User
Reaction score
Gent's,
Diagnostic noob here and I need some help. Is there any such thing as generic software which can be installed on a laptop and then connected to any car? I'm particularly interested in Land Rover and BMW software if that helps.

I think Fes had some stuff like this... I might be completely wrong though lol.... 100% someone a little while back had the diagnostic software for cars ?

I wonder if they are like motorola jobbies where you need special adaptors to program / read the buggers ?

I would suspect that you need to be in the trade to buy a bus unit or something.

Mickie

Depends what you want to do and the age of the cars. petrol models from 2000 on will be eobd compliant (european onboard diagnostic) and the main engine data can be read with any obd2 code reader and the codes cleared. You can spend anything from £20 for one of these up to £3000 for some really serious kit. Have a look on eb*y and you'll see tons of cloned equip from china. Like this
h**p://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BMW-GT1-DIS-SSS-COMPLETE-SYSTEM-Scanner-diagnostic-tool_W0QQitemZ280412551608QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Diagnostic_Tools_Equipment?hash=item4149e3f9b8

Air bags and abs systems are all manufaturer specific there are some tools that will interface with a range of manufacturers, but you'll be looking at the higher end tools for that.

thebigman

Hmm haven't seen Fes in ages, I'll drop him a PM though. Thanks for the info Mickie.

Had a quick looksy and it looks promising, there's quite a lot of talk on this subject on the internet. I've already some free suspension error message reset software which I don't need.

Hmm haven't seen Fes in ages, I'll drop him a PM though. Thanks for the info Mickie.

Had a quick looksy and it looks promising, there's quite a lot of talk on this subject on the internet. I've already some free suspension error message reset software which I don't need.

hi

what exactly do u need to do