Yet another complete novice.

Rappy

Inactive User
Reaction score
I am retired and living in Cyprus. I have a lot of spare time on my hands which I don't like wasting. Last year I taught myself HTML and CSS programming. This year I'd like to learn more about, and experiment with, Satellite TV.

I have a fixed dish on Hotbird. I'm now ready to purchase a new receiver, programmer, etc. Now for the questions:

I am considering buying a TECHNOMATE 7655 2VA DIGITAL SATELLITE RECEIVER PATCHED - 5 CAM 2 CARD FREE RS232 PATCH CABLE & HOW 2 PATCH MOVIE. Price on eBay about £100. Any other recommended receivers? The Dreambox is a little outside my budget and seems quite complicated for a newbie.

I would welcome your opinions of the Technomate receiver. What is meant by being 'patched'? I understand CAMs are akin to PCMIA cards. Are 'built-in' CAMs part of the firmware? How do they operate?

Next, the programmer. I am considering a Infinity USB. Is this any good? Any recommendations.

Having a receiver and programmer I'd then need a card. I am totally in the dark. What should I get? Suggested sources?

Finally, when I have all the kit (I already have a PC), how do I put it all together and use it? I have heard about 'KEYS' but know nothing about them.

There, I told you I was a novice. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Of course, you will understand that I don't want to view encrypted channels. This is experimentation only and if any encrypted channels did appear by any chance, I would turn off my TV :))

Cheers

if you are into learning have a read up on dreambox
card programing is old hat now with recievers with built in emulators
:)