Would you even know what to do with it?

Would you even know what to do with it?

• Total voters

digidude

Sheep worrier.
VIP Member
Reaction score
AS the title says.

More and more people are jumping on the 'release the source code' wagon, but, if you had it, would you even know where to start?

Ive been playing with a TM/iTgate CVS for about 18 months, it took me a VERY long time to even be able to find my way round, and i still need help with the majority of things i want to do, and if im lucky, 1 in 5 images i create will work, but only with minor changes, and then probably more buggy than the one i created before it.

When (if) the source gets released to the public, and you download it, to sort out the problems yourself, who will you turn to for help / guidance? TM wont give it, as its not officially supported by them. I wont give any, as itd be the blind leading the blind. The few members i know of who really know what to do with it wont help, as they wont want to be swamped with requests from 'noobs' like myself.

I know we have a few VERY clever members who know their way round image creating inside out, but the other 99% of us would be as good with it as we are at describing the quantam physics behind the possible chaos theory during the creation of a time and space warping black hole, right?

So, taking into account that when its released, its something that you have asked for, what roughly zero support, and you spend a LONG time downloading it (i think it took about 9 hours to fully download the tm500/600 CVS), Would you even know what to do with it?

I'm one that's asked for it so feel I should answer

I too wouldn't know what to do with it like yourself
But I know people that do know what to do and would be happy to have a play with it

But what worries me is these people could buy other boxes ?

One thing that I'd point out here is that its pointless releasing the souce unless Tm have the backing of groups such PLi, DE etc..