VIRGIN MEDIA disconnections all the time, anyone give advice?

j4g3d

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Im really at my wits end with this, i've had a engineer out 3 times now and this has been going on for 3 months. I get random disconnections from WIFI and LAN randomly, it could go a whole day with no problems or it could disconnect 6 times in a day for 1 or 2 minutes tops.

Called VM they said power levels are off.

1st engineer came out said power levels a tiny bit off in the modem. Replaced superhub (im running a ASUS router)
-Same problem occurred after he left


Called VM they said power levels are off.

2nd engineer came out and said power levels tiny bit off and he will replaced all cabling in the house
-Same problems occurred after he left


Called VM they said power levels are off.

3rd engineer came out and said power levels are spot on. He changed a junction box of some sort that is on the front of my house and said the likely cause is your ASUS router.

So now i have since replaced the ASUS router with a netgear and im experiencing the exact same problem. I have been told RIGHT from the beginning of all this from a ex VM eng (my friend) that the downstream power levels in the box on the street needs to be boosted. But VM engineers seem to be reluctant to do this.

Heres a screen shot of my downstream power levels that do seem to fluctuate between -6.0 to - 9.5.

Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet

What do i do next? i feel to cancel my broadband as its doing my absolute nut in.
 

Napster

Global Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
18,786
Reaction score
6,842
Location
Black Country
if that was me I would refuse to pay until they sort it, they have to provide you with a working service and as you say yours don't
 

casuk

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
2,136
Reaction score
436
I had a similar problem but they fixed it over the phone and that's after two engineers had came out, the woman on the phone changed a few settings on the router and its been fine since, I also refused any payment until its was fixed and that got them to hurry up
 

Napster

Global Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
18,786
Reaction score
6,842
Location
Black Country
At the end of the day why should you have to pay for a bad service
 

casuk

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
2,136
Reaction score
436
Exactly there quick to add £10 for a late payment, my argument is why will should i pay 100% of my bill for x amount of service
 

Haair

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Plus when you do get it sorted, make sure you insist on some compensation for your troubles
 

VoyagerIPM

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I'm JUST going through the same problem. My understanding is your power levels need to be positive, but no more than around 10dBm or something. Mine are, but my 152mb line is running at 1mb and it's annoying.
 

buzzer

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
8,217
Reaction score
3,926
Location
scotland
i had the exact same problem, they replaced everything.
turned out to be a networking fault , but only i had complained
 

HibbyDave

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
2,786
Reaction score
1,466
Location
Sunshine on Leith
I had the same problem, got myself a linksys wrt54g router stuck dd-wrt on it switched off the wireless on vm to modem only and it's never disconnected yet. :)
 
TEST
Top