Updating The Wii Firmware etc

black_arab

Inactive User
Reaction score
I have just successfully (in the end) fitted an Argon Modchip to my daughters Wii. I am a complete newbie to the workings of the Wii and after hours of head banging confusing reading I was wondering if I could get some answers please.

I fitted all the wires including the 4 extra ones for the different regions and would like to know

1...Can I update the Wii firmware through my network without damaging it or the chip. It may not even need an update yet as it was Dec 2007 stock.

2...As it says direct booting of 80% imports am I right in saying that you just need to run the iso through brickblocker or do you need to make it region free aswell.

3...Is it OK to update from a disk as long as I am 100% sure that its Pal.

Sorry for the newbie questions but there are a lot of conflicting stories on the net and I watched my 9 year old this morning turn on the Wii and just press buttons without reading anything on the screen.

As always thanks for any advice.

regards
Bob

I have just successfully (in the end) fitted an Argon Modchip to my daughters Wii. I am a complete newbie to the workings of the Wii and after hours of head banging confusing reading I was wondering if I could get some answers please.

I fitted all the wires including the 4 extra ones for the different regions and would like to know

1...Can I update the Wii firmware through my network without damaging it or the chip. It may not even need an update yet as it was Dec 2007 stock.

2...As it says direct booting of 80% imports am I right in saying that you just need to run the iso through brickblocker or do you need to make it region free aswell.

3...Is it OK to update from a disk as long as I am 100% sure that its Pal.

Sorry for the newbie questions but there are a lot of conflicting stories on the net and I watched my 9 year old this morning turn on the Wii and just press buttons without reading anything on the screen.