School runs

stevejay

Inactive User
Reaction score
im a taxi driver & do a school run with disabled kids, takes about 40 mins in the morning & same on a tea time, i get £300 pw for this, the kids parents in question ? one of the parents doesn't work & has a car on the drive, the other kids parents one works but the mother doesn't, they have 2 cars, surely the council should say " well you don't work so you are capable of dropping the kid off" & give them lets say £100 pw fuel voucher ( & that's over the top !! but a incentive i suppose as it probably only costs about £15 pw in fuel) so that's a potential saving of £800 pm just on my run ! & this is happening every school morning nationwide, yet the council are always closing other stuff libraries etc because the cant afford to run them , i know im talking myself out of work here but i just cant understand it at all, does no one look in to the backgrounds of the parents ? don't suppose this is a real rant but it puzzles me TBH, i mean fair enough if they both work or they find a job & need a school run done, but as far as i can see both these kids parents are more than capable ( time wise) to do it themselves, the whole system needs a complete overhaul as its ridiculous at the moment

Last edited:
It's just another example of how the Benefits system is totally mis-managed, but the situation will be read by some as someone scamming the system and so being a "Benefits Scrounger".
Not only does the Benefits System need a complete overhaul so does the management who run the system.
The government should also not be allowed to make knee jerk adjustments to the system.
The Benefit System is something the country should be proud of as it is meant to help those who have slipped into the position of needy and stop those problems becoming worse.............something many other countries do not do.