Not a Bug save draft issue when deleting content. (DRAFTS)

smoggie

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
1,373
Likes
159
#1
test

EDIT: I posted this because I had wrote something and decided not to post it but even though I deleted the content it kept coming back if I refreshed the page, I also logged out but it was still there when I logged in, so I deleted it again and entered test (to get rid of it)
 
Last edited:

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,631
Likes
583
#2
test

EDIT: I posted this because I had wrote something and decided not to post it but even though I deleted the content it kept coming back if I refreshed the page, I also logged out but it was still there when I logged in, so I deleted it again and entered test (to get rid of it)
That's been happening for me ever since we went to the upgraded forum
 

Mick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 19, 1999
Messages
31,867
Likes
841
#4
Same here, never thought anything of it....
That's been happening for me ever since we went to the upgraded forum
The forum Saves a draft of everything you write incase you lost the page, this is a feature of the forum.

It saves periodically as you are writing, so it might not know if you deleted it. because it would not of saved after you deleted it right away.

Mick
 

Mick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 19, 1999
Messages
31,867
Likes
841
#5
Moved posts to a new thread as this is not the same issue as the original thread which is about a reply box disappearing.

Thank you.

Mick
 

Mick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 19, 1999
Messages
31,867
Likes
841
#6
A quick tip for those that are wondering about the SAVE DRAFT versioning.

If you really want to get rid of the content you saved and not have it come back, there is a DISK icon on the menu bar (where it has BOLD, ITALIC, UNDERLINE, ETC)... right at the end of the bar it actually glows green when it has saved

Click it and press the delete draft.

Cheers
Mick
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,109
Likes
540
#7
I delete the text if I decide not to post then it doesn't come back :).
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,109
Likes
540
#9
Never worked for me, always came back.

Just tried it again and it disappeared, confused o_O
In the past I think I had to type a character, maybe a space. Then the forum software probably strips whitespace leaving it blank.
 

Mick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 19, 1999
Messages
31,867
Likes
841
#10
This is not a Bug.

This is just how the save drafts work. it's saved periodically like every 30 seconds.

if you delete your text but leave the page before it saves (ie 30 seconds) then it will bring back the text...

if you watch the SAVE DISK icon while you are typing you will notice it periodically glowing green, this indicates a save...

Mick
 
Last edited:

avid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2004
Messages
1,824
Likes
606
#11
I think it’s a good idea because if you have typed long post and accidentally leave the thread, you have not lost what you going to post.
 
TEST
Top