Question/Suggestions on Router Connections

pks00

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 30, 2007
Messages
3,210
Reaction score
162
Location
Getting sunburnt in SoCal
Right before anyone says to reset router etc, I cannot. I am currently lodging at a friend of my dad's place and kindly borrowing their internet. Now I don't like to ask my dad's friend all the time whenever there are issues plus his lad who is the only techie in their household and is not always approachable.
I do not know the router password and dont want to change anything since the equipment doesnt belong to me (though I have made some suggestions, all have been ignored by him).

I got 2 laptops, 1 tosh (winxp) and 1 samsung (win7). Router is a linksys, 160N. Signal is low, sometimes good. Usually both laptops will connect but sometimes one will not whilst the other does or vice versa. Currently both laptops unable to connect.

I have gone next to the router and still unable to connect so you can rule out signal problems. I have reset the tcp stack, disabled firewall on laptop, deleted and reentered the ssid entry etc. Security is wpa2. I got hold of another laptop and that connected fine (using same password so that also rules out incorrect password). The lad downstairs, his laptop and desktop connect fine also.

I read that it might be the router firewall blocking out access based on mac address or something. Not sure but that is something I am going to try, to see if I can find a mac addresss changer/spoofer.

Anyone got any ideas on what I can try bearing in mind I have no access to the router config or router itself?
 

pks00

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 30, 2007
Messages
3,210
Reaction score
162
Location
Getting sunburnt in SoCal
Yo!!!! I think it worked. I am typing on me tosh. I downloaded this, selected random mac address, deleted current saved ssid, then readded it, then right clicked on icon in systray and selected repair. After that it managed to connect.

I read somewhere that router can block mac address. Whether this was done deliberately or done by the router's firewall thinking there is an attack, I dont know. Hopefully this trick will work again if I ever get blocked. Now gonna try this on the other laptop, tomorrow of course as watching die hard on tnt is more important at the moment lol.

Its 21.38 here folks so gonna watch the flick. Laters all
 

Dazza

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 16, 2007
Messages
2,838
Reaction score
66
I read somewhere that router can block mac address. Whether this was done deliberately or done by the router's firewall thinking there is an attack, I dont know.

It would have been done deliberately m8. I have always used Linksys gear, and the way the software works with MACs is, you either allow specific MACs, or deny Specific MACs.

Glad you're sorted though m8.
 

mozr

Banned
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
3,175
Reaction score
205
Dazza is right.

The 'unapproachable' techie hates you.

Kick him in the balls.
 

pks00

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 30, 2007
Messages
3,210
Reaction score
162
Location
Getting sunburnt in SoCal
Kick him in the balls.

ha, would be a great idea but then I risk getting kicked out and there goes my cheap rent lol

It would have been done deliberately m8. I have always used Linksys gear, and the way the software works with MACs is, you either allow specific MACs, or deny Specific MACs.

Glad you're sorted though m8.


Thanks. Funny thing happened, I shut down the app as I didnt think you needed it running. Net connection was still on. Just checked it now and found net connection lost and unable to change mac address. It always goes back to the original.
I tried changing the registry but the app still reports on that mac. So I tried smac and macshift, same problem. Damn it.
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Reaction score
1,283
Location
Essex
Have you agreed that access to their internet connection is included as part of your rent ? If so then why is he blocking you ?
 

pks00

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 30, 2007
Messages
3,210
Reaction score
162
Location
Getting sunburnt in SoCal
Have you agreed that access to their internet connection is included as part of your rent ? If so then why is he blocking you ?

Internet worked for a while after the change but inside less than a day it stopped and failed to get it going. Since then I aint had internet. At a friend's place using his.

Regarding your question though the answer is yes. Dad's mate has told me I can use his internet without charge but obviously I can't complain about no access and why considering it is done as a favour.
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Reaction score
1,283
Location
Essex
TBH, if the dad has agreed to it then I would speak to him about it. Approach in a friendly manner, don't get pushy and see what he says. Most likely he won't know what his son is up to but hopefully he will speak to him.

Maybe the son is worried about excessive usage or something.
 

Penners

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
1,088
Reaction score
158
Use a sniffer on the network i.e wireshark etc.. find out his mac addy and just change yours to his, sounds like instead of denying your specific mac he's just got an allow list instead with his mac's and all other mac's will be disabled.

smac is good and so is technitium
 

HibbyDave

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
2,840
Reaction score
1,621
Location
Sunshine on Leith
Dazza is right.

The 'unapproachable' techie hates you.

Kick him in the balls.

I'm with mozr on this pks00, a swift boot in the hee haws will sort the little runt out, he's obviously blocking you somehow.

good luck mate.



:Cheers:
 

pks00

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 30, 2007
Messages
3,210
Reaction score
162
Location
Getting sunburnt in SoCal
TBH, if the dad has agreed to it then I would speak to him about it. Approach in a friendly manner, don't get pushy and see what he says. Most likely he won't know what his son is up to but hopefully he will speak to him.

Maybe the son is worried about excessive usage or something.

Doubt there is excessive usage considering the slow speeds anyways but he is a little strange. His dad has told me he doesnt tell him much as he gets moody when you ask him to do things. Best leave it at that.

Use a sniffer on the network i.e wireshark etc.. find out his mac addy and just change yours to his, sounds like instead of denying your specific mac he's just got an allow list instead with his mac's and all other mac's will be disabled.

smac is good and so is technitium

I have used the two you suggested already but they wouldnt change the mac. Then the author of techntium suggested I change the first two to 02 instead and that seemed to have worked. I will try that when I get back there to see if I can pick up the net. Great idea on trying to use his mac though :)

I'm with mozr on this pks00, a swift boot in the hee haws will sort the little runt out, he's obviously blocking you somehow.

good luck mate.



:Cheers:

So am I but then I could get kicked out of the motel lol and there goes my subsidised rent.
 
TEST
Top