• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

problems

gez

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2005
Messages
4,681
Likes
128
#1
bought a dell 18 months ago with xp on and vista upgrade, did the upgrade etc worked fine. grandson has now deleted any backup and any restore options.
computer now running very slow.have tried all the usual stuff as in adaware speed up my comp etc
what options do i have,
i have a xp disc with key (legit) bit it wont let me load it
cant do a restore cos last one is about 1 month ago
dont have much/any techie knowledge
apart from a new hard drive is there any easy option
if i put a new drive in can i just start the xp disc and it will load with drivers etc
thanks for any help you can give but please pleas keep it simple and no techie abbreviations lol:Cheers:
 

mastichick

DW Member +
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Messages
1,498
Likes
20
#2
Hi

Why dont you backup all your important stuff inc your drivers and do a complete reformat and clean install.

Regards
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
6,926
Likes
65
#4
The XP setup disc will allow you to do a complete format of c: during the installation process.

Before doing this, make sure you are able to get all the drivers from the Dell website. And also keep a copy of the other programs you got from elsewhere.
 

phawk754

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
1,589
Likes
50
#5
adding on a bit from what karym6 is saying you will have to boot from the xp disk as it will not let you do it from inside vista

so put the xp cd in your cd-rom drive then reboot the pc you will then see "press any key to boot from cd" if you do not see this you will have to go into your bios and make you 1st boot drive the cd-rom
 

Seedy_r0m

DW Regular +
Joined
Mar 22, 2005
Messages
4,232
Likes
311
#6
To restore Dell's back to factory settings.

Turn on the PC

During the boot process, a blue bar with www.dell.com appears at the top of the screen.

Immediately upon seeing the blue bar, press <Ctrl><F11>.

This should reset everything back to what it was when it was delivered.

If the hidden partition has been removed, then this won't work, but it's worth a go.