problems with firmware toolbox

dbspider

Member ++
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
526
Reaction score
23
i have been having trouble with firmware toolbox when it comes to flashing the files it reads info ok but when i go to flash i always get unable to verify try agian but it can't so if click no i have ended up bricking 2 drives

i have tryed it on both a via card and my onboard nforce sata but always get the same error

i don't know if it is because i am on vista has anyone else had this problem ?
 

Oggy

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
2,365
Reaction score
196
i have been having trouble with firmware toolbox when it comes to flashing the files it reads info ok but when i go to flash i always get unable to verify try agian but it can't so if click no i have ended up bricking 2 drives

i have tryed it on both a via card and my onboard nforce sata but always get the same error

i don't know if it is because i am on vista has anyone else had this problem ?

Hitachi Rom: Ver?
 

Oggy

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
2,365
Reaction score
196
all versions mate

Well, I dont use toolbox for Pre 78's personally....

So I wouldnt use it, stick to the batch files.

As for the error itself, Im not sure, but if its not flashing, I wonder how it can brick the drive.
 

marra

DW Regular
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
4,623
Reaction score
182
Location
The rats nest of wires behind my TV
i agree with oggy stick to the batch files mate i only use fwtoolbox to check the original dump i read before i flash the drive check key etc saying that ive only ever done pre 78's i think but ive done the other drives too using the batches just to add i use xp and a nforce board but im probably not the best person to ask but im sure it wont be vista causing the prob you could allways try the same drive again on xp see if you have any luck recovering it
 
Last edited:

Oggy

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
2,365
Reaction score
196
Yup, Vista could easily be the issue....

Carranzafp / Maximus coded it based on XP usage I believe
 

dbspider

Member ++
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
526
Reaction score
23
oh well i think it is vista that causing the prob as no matter what hitachi drive i do it comes the same
 

Sylar

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
227
Reaction score
6
try using classic mode in firmware toolbox i had this problem

I don't think the mode is causing the problem as he mentioned he was able to read from the drive, the problem could be caused by the selection of the internal flasher program. I do remember a screen with a drop down list where you could chose which flash program to use. If my memory serves correctly, the selection includes an internal flasher and flashers for each drive model, you could try a different selection.
 
TEST
Top