Newbie with a PSP

beezo

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Im new to all this but have just bought my little lad a psp an was wondering if its possible to 'chip' it so I can save myself some money on games.

if it can be chipped, would it be possible to take me step by step through the process as ive read some tuts but am getting a little confused with them all.

All I can tell you is that I have a 32MB memory card (will upgrade this if need be) and the version operating on the psp is version 2.50 and there is no sticker in the UMD

just had a look now but Its really hard to see!!

It does look like it says ic6001 on the left hand side, there doesnt seem to be any writing on the righthand side

just had a look now but Its really hard to see!!

It does look like it says ic6001 on the left hand side, there doesnt seem to be any writing on the righthand side

Thats fine mate, you have 2 options now, get an original UMD of GTA, that has the 2.0 update this will allow you to downgrade 2.5 or 2.6. Or you can simply upgrade to 2.71 and use the downgrader. There are plenty of Readme's here that should guide you. ANd plenty of people to answer your questions.

can someone tell me whats the point in either upgrading or downgrading!!!

If I do either of the above will I be able to save games to a memory card from the internet?? and also which is better, to downgrade or upgrade??? whats the pro's and cons

many thanx in advance

Downgrading to a 1.50 Sony Firmware and then upgrade to an OE; latest is 3.40 OE (Open Edition) or 3.52 M33 Firmware; latest is m33-4 IIRC. This will provide you with all the benefits of the latest additions to the PSP. You will still be able to play homebrew and backups of games you *ahem* already own on your memory stick.

Don't confuse the custom firmwares with Sony's as you'll end up being tied down to no homebrew etc if you go above a 3.50 official FW.

Thanks!