is it possible to flash an image with just a crossover cable?

deano831

Inactive User
Reaction score
hi peeps,what it is, i was at my grans today and discovered she had a dreambox 500clone,she was telling me that when the k*ys roll she has to take the box to the person she bought it from and gets charged a tenner for the c**t to put the k*ys in, now im a total neebie and novice when it comes to the box, and the pc for that matter, but last month to my surprise i managed to fix my box by putting the new rom7,10 and 11 fixes,my box already had digitalworlds 2.1 image on it,hence me not needing to flash a new image to my box, all i done was use a crossover cable and dream up to fix my box,i am not sure what image is on my grans box but it is working fine,so what i wanted to do for her was put the new rom7,10 and 11 fixes onto her box and save her some money and was just wondering if it was worth flashing a new image to her box and if it can be done with just a crossover cable? or would i just be better putting the new roms in?? thanks in advance people, i feel like iv just wrote a chapter for a fookin book here lol

Last edited:
Lol deano i remember you sorting yours. Just do your grans the same way as you done yours m8. It should be fine. And yes you can flash with just a crossover cable,
You only need a null modem if you need to flash the firmware back on.

Lol deano i remember you sorting yours. Just do your grans the same way as you done yours m8. It should be fine. And yes you can flash with just a crossover cable,
You only need a null modem if you need to flash the firmware back on.

pmsl that was brain damage when i was trying to fix mine,it took me about two months to do it,and the best of was it was done in less than five minutes lol, cheers for replying ianb,so do you think i should just leave the image she already has on mate and just put the new roms on it?cheers mate.
oh am i right in saying the new roms go into /var/k*ys?? cheers

Last edited: