iPhone Iphone 6s screen replacement fingerprint not working

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,513
Likes
251
#1
I replaced the screen on my daughters 6s and all was fine. I moved over the original home button onto the new screen and got the fingerprint working fine. The new screen then developed a dark shadow so I sent it back and got a new screen from a different person. I moved the home button over again the the 2nd new screen but I cant get the fingerprint work it just says failed and the option is greyed out.

I even put the home button that came with the 2nd screen in but no luck. Will it be the screen or will the 2nd screen need to have the home button that came with it in it ?. I'm lost here, how can I get it to work ?
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,631
Likes
583
#2
has to be your original home button that you use. Seems it's a connection issue or software lock up. Software glitches can sometimes remedy by connecting to iTunes
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,513
Likes
251
#3
Yeah it is the original home button, it worked in the first replacement screen but I had to send it back because of the shadow on the screen. I'll get hert to connect it up later and try resitting the button other than that she'll have to do without.

I reminded her that in my day telephone boxes . . . . ..................................... then I heard the door close
 

shabbaranks

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2001
Messages
1,387
Likes
50
#4
I had the same problem on a 6 I did, the little connection block which should click into place can become damaged easily - have you checked its actually connected firmly? If I was you I would just blame Apple ;)
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
747
Likes
251
#5
from my own experience if a option is grayed out or not available on android after changing hardware it is nearly always that the hardware isnt connected.

check to make sure all the connections are properly seated and that all the ribbon cables are fully inserted and test before reassembling.

reboot if it doesn't recognize the hardware as with android it only tests if the hardware is there on boot. so if you connect afterwards it wont recognize the hardware.
 

Mick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 19, 1999
Messages
31,867
Likes
841
#7
My daughter keeps smashing her screen and its costing me £40 a pop.

I cant be bothered with all that changing myself, I did once fix an iPad screen a few years back and to be honest I was well chuffed!!!

Mick
 

avid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2004
Messages
1,824
Likes
606
#9
Last edited:

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,513
Likes
251
#10
Shes broke the screen once more so I replaced it and the home button and cable for the Touch ID but the friggin thing isn't working again everythings working bar the touch ID. I swapped over the home button and cable for the touch ID fingerprint from her phone but when I go into the settings "Touch ID & Passcode" and enter her passcode digits
IPohne Unlock
Apple Pay
ITunes & App Store
are all switched off. If I try to turn any on I just get the:- "FAILED Unable to complete Touch ID setup. Please go back and try again".

Is this software or hardware ?
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,513
Likes
251
#11
I've just swapped the home button and cable back over to the cracked screen and on boot I got no warning message pop up about the touch ID failing so I take it it's OK back on the old one. As soon as it's on the new screen on boot I get a Touch ID failed message on boot.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2012
Messages
265
Likes
2
#12
I swapped a screen on my phone two days ago with same issue but also microphone and cameras won’t work now. The Touch ID mysteriously started working today but other issues still a problem. I think a faulty screen can effect said parts. I’ve now ordered a new one with only the home button to change.
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,513
Likes
251
#13
The screen I bought was with a camera and mic as I couldn't be bothered mauling but my daughter said she can hardly here anyone and they sound muffled. Plus she said on Facetime there all pink lines on the screen when the camera's on. I've tried 3 times with clips but no joy. The guy on eBay sold over a 1000 so I'm thinking it might be a faulty digitizer he's sent me.
 

janobi

Janet to us
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
8,130
Likes
194
#14
My daughter keeps smashing her screen and its costing me £40 a pop.

I cant be bothered with all that changing myself, I did once fix an iPad screen a few years back and to be honest I was well chuffed!!!

Mick
Im the same, got insurance with protect your bubble. £50 excess and I get a brand new phone, not even a brand new screen :)
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,513
Likes
251
#15
I was refunded by the seller so I bought elsewere from a guy who's sold 1000's. I installed the new screen this morning and low and behold, the Touch ID is still not working. This time though unlike the 1st screen the fingerprint section is not greyed out. As soon as you press on it though up pops the Failed message.
I've installed it back onto the knackered badly cracked screen but I cant try it proper because the bottom half of the screen doesnt work. I'm gonig to downgrade the IOS see if that helps as we upgraded it to the latest plus factory reset it.
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,513
Likes
251
#16
I thought I'll downgrade it see if it's the FW 11.3. I downloaded 10.3.2 just fails, can you not downgrade 11.3 ?
 
TEST
Top