Internet - it's gone?

telsave

Member +
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Messages
658
Reaction score
33
Location
Newcastle
Hi m8's

Hope someone can be kind enough to offer advice this morning. I am typing this quietly as Dutcho will still be in the land of NOD getting his beauty sleep!

Started up PC and Laptop this morning and found that whereas the Internet worked great on the laptop via Wireless I cannot get Internet on the PC. This is what I have tried:-

Re-boot PC
Unplugged and re-plugged ethernet cable - re-booted PC
Changed ethernet cable for one that worked OK on lap top - re-booted PC
Unistalled ethernet through Hardware Device Manager and rebooted PC (recognised and re-installed and reports working fine)
Re booted Modem (even though Lap top was working OK) Re-booted PC
Still cannot access Internet on PC

And as my wife uses it and we are off to Spain on Saturday and she has lots to do before then I am getting it in the neck.

Any ideas gratefully received.

cheers
 

telsave

Member +
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Messages
658
Reaction score
33
Location
Newcastle
do you get an ip address assigned by your router?
Hi Karym6

You have got me there not sure if it variable or fixed, I used to have a fixed address where would I find it please, I know that it is in the router somewhere but not sure to get in I know Dutcho types in something like 192.?????

cheers
 

telsave

Member +
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Messages
658
Reaction score
33
Location
Newcastle
Hi

I have just recalled to access router is 192.168.0.1 but then it askes for username and password - not a clue!

So I do not think that is much help unless there is a way to find out what it is.
 

telsave

Member +
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Messages
658
Reaction score
33
Location
Newcastle
Now it is a long long time since Dutcho slept near me!

But as he still maintains my computer and used to maintain my cars before I got proper ones I keep in with him and try not to upset him, anyway his wife would hit me if I did, I am scared of her.

If you are reading this Diane - you are the best daughter-in-law that I have!!!!
 

nara

Who?
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
15,663
Reaction score
6,141
Location
Funksjonærbyen
Now it is a long long time since Dutcho slept near me!

But as he still maintains my computer and used to maintain my cars before I got proper ones I keep in with him and try not to upset him, anyway his wife would hit me if I did, I am scared of her.

If you are reading this Diane - you are the best daughter-in-law that I have!!!!

That explains it. :Cheers:
 

iant

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
621
Reaction score
1
Were you using zonealarm as your firewall? If so there's an issue with that and the lastest windoze update
 

Tech Babe

Banned
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
837
Reaction score
4
Location
right in front of ya
Now it is a long long time since Dutcho slept near me!

But as he still maintains my computer and used to maintain my cars before I got proper ones I keep in with him and try not to upset him, anyway his wife would hit me if I did, I am scared of her.

If you are reading this Diane - you are the best daughter-in-law that I have!!!!


thats because i am the only daughter-in-law you have and its "Dianne"......or should i say only official daughter-in-law.
 

telsave

Member +
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Messages
658
Reaction score
33
Location
Newcastle
Not sure how many unofficial ones i have????????????? DIANNE
 
TEST
Top