How to improve "ping"

Flyka

New Member +
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
68
Reaction score
11
Guys regarding the subject we're not supposed to talk about....
How can I improve my ping in direct relation to glitching in my DM800HD SE.
Thanks in advance!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

digi247

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
3,288
Reaction score
2,435
Probably not what you want to hear but change your broadband supplier
 

Flyka

New Member +
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
68
Reaction score
11
I'm currently on BT Infinity fibre!... Running at about 27-32mb
My ping is always around 20-70 so is quite good!
I asked the question for a mate who's box I sorted for him who has a ping of 120-200!
I could answer his question with "My parachute's open......" But I don't roll like that!
I mentioned it might be his provider and advised he should consider changing but thought I would ask the Q anyway!!
Is there anything he could do to improve it without changing providers?
Cheers
Flyka


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

wiz569

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
11,974
Reaction score
6,174
Location
Ireland
I'm currently on BT Infinity fibre!... Running at about 27-32mb
My ping is always around 20-70 so is quite good!
I asked the question for a mate who's box I sorted for him who has a ping of 120-200!
I could answer his question with "My parachute's open......" But I don't roll like that!
I mentioned it might be his provider and advised he should consider changing but thought I would ask the Q anyway!!
Is there anything he could do to improve it without changing providers?
Cheers
Flyka


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yep thats quite high,so its not the server ;) but could be his isp

He could double check all the cables for soundness etc,
I presume he is hard wired?
 

Flyka

New Member +
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
68
Reaction score
11
Sure he is but I'll check anyways!
Cheers mucka!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

digi247

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
3,288
Reaction score
2,435
A ping of over 75ms can cause issues no magical wire changing can cure that, he is either in an over subscribed area or if using a BT line with another provider he has excessive noise on the external line which can only be remedied by BT themselves same as cable over subscribed cabinet and you have problems.

My original solution still stands parachute open or not change the ISP as stated
 

Flyka

New Member +
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
68
Reaction score
11
Thanks again Digi will inform him of his options!!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
TEST
Top