Freeview Signal

smitherz

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
77
Likes
0
#1
Hey,

I once got told that ariel signal boosters do not do much with freeview. I have freeview plugged in upstairs and there is only a few selected channels that i can receive, at times the picture has a tendency to cut out. Now i have a booster plugged in but this is very old and TBH it has never made much difference to terrestrial TV.

Is it worth buying a real dogs bollox booster to help strengthen my signal?


Thanks,

smitherz
 

Steve

DW Member ++
Joined
Feb 4, 2002
Messages
1,368
Likes
2
#2
i bought an indoor arial c/w booster from argos when it was the old onDigi service and helped me (using it now for the freeview and without it wouldn't get as good a signal ... tried the signal strength test with and without the booster and def get a stronger signal with the booster)
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
1,804
Likes
2
#7
In theory i would say get a proper decent booster im taking it u can take it back like b&q sell em m8 just open it try it if its shite put it back in the box and get a refund i know its a bit of a chore but if it gets it to work.... i get freeview on a shitty 5 quid arieal from wilkinsons lmao its not even made for freeview ive gone to cable now tho coz of the movies etc etc ;) hope this helps
 

Explosivo

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
4,729
Likes
82
#8
i use a wideband arial i got from wilkinson for £20

when i scan for channels without a booster i dont get as many channels as i do with a booster.

so it must make a big difference.

cheapo one from argos.
 

tats123

Inactive User
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
6
Likes
0
#9
Living on the east coast of east anglia, our transmitter is at lower power. I have to share my antenna with 4 other flats and can only recieve freeview with a booster.

The advice on boosters is quite unclear, but I am led to believe that not only do they boost the signal, but any "noise" present aswell, hence not recommended. The true approach is to eliminate noise before the signal travels down the cable (attenuation) to the box is by means of a good aerial or the use of a pre-amp (for an example)

So always best to start at the cheapest - get a booster and test it out (can always take it back for a refund).

Hope this help clear some things up?
 

The Swerv

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
62
Likes
0
#10
It is always better to get the best possible signal you can before you start to add any gain to it. Go for a higher, better, bigger,more, b4 you start to amp it up. Crap in.......... , and better crap out!!!!!!!!!
 

access

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
56
Likes
0
#11
I got a one for all airal with a gain booster built in, but I find it picks up my remote controls and disrupts my signal.
Anyone else found this?
 
TEST
Top