can someone help me my mum is driving me nuts

jase02476

Inactive User
Reaction score
can this be done my mum had bt broadband and she has only got one phone socket down sters but the computer is upsters so i went and got a linksys wireless broadband router for downsters and a wireless lan pci card for the computer but i have never done wireless before on the computer it sez its conected to the linksys and it sez the signall is brillient but it just will not connect to the internet can someone help me plz thanx as i have never done wireless before thanx :Chainsaw:

Hi mate I got the same problem with my, wireless router, the computer connects to the router but there is no internet on the other. I just got so frustrated I just left it, 65 quid wasted!

1st I moved this to the right room....;)

anyway

This is the way have my network setup

Doing thing high up the range so

Router is xxx.xxx.xxx.250
Printserver xxx.xxx.xxx.251
Bridge xxx.xxx.xxx.252

PC's

Server xxx.xxx.xxx.1 Wired
Lappy 1 xxx.xxx.xxx.2 Wireless
Lappy 2 xxx.xxx.xxx.3 Wireless
PDA xxx.xxx.xxx.4 Wireless
XBOX xxx.xxx.xxx.5 Wireless via bridge.

As you can see I do not use DHCP, pain in the ass.

Before we setup security we get the network working.

So Server is hard wired with a i
IP of xxx.xxx.xxx.1
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway xxx.xxx.xxx.250 < Note Router IP address

DNS Primary from ISP
DNS Secondary from ISP

Your router will tell you these when connected to BB.

Follow these instructions and you should be onto a winner.

remember wired and wireless have exactly the same basic config. the only diference is the security required

IS security enabled on the router??

if so this could be blocking the internet signal, althjough i doubt this is your problem because if this was the case then it would just not connect at all.

check that the CROSSOVER cable is connected from the modem to the router and not a standard one.

Mairyhinge said:
1st I moved this to the right room....;)

anyway