• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Printing ADVICE - How can i only print ONE page ?

bilabonic

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
2,675
Likes
15
#1
Hi All

I keep all receipts from Ebay and just print them via Thunderbird BUT everytime i print the one off i have 2 pages, one with the info i need and the rest with load shite (couple of lines at top) that goes in the bin.

So i am wasting 1 piece everytime i print a receipt.

It does not allow you to adjust it to one page in print preview, only adjust percentage size and landscape/portrait ?

I've tried saving it to desktop and opening with another program but no luck ?

Snipping tool will not let me 'snip' all the page i want (unless there is a way to scroll down whilst snipping?)

Anyone ?

Cheers
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
38,572
Likes
170
#2
Bit of a long way round but you could print to PDF with some PDF tool then print a page range from the PDF document.
 

bilabonic

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
2,675
Likes
15
#3
Bit of a long way round but you could print to PDF with some PDF tool then print a page range from the PDF document.
I don't have that option ? Only as above.

Huge pile wasted paper though, as i do about 50/60 a month !!!
 

leemoo

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2009
Messages
1,585
Likes
31
#5
You could download something like "snagit". Don't think its free so you may have to get a copy from somewere otherwise you could try a free alternative of snagit.
Type into google something like "free alternative to snagit" and I'm sure there will be plenty to choose from.
 

funghi

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
9
Likes
0
#6
I'm not sure if you have this option in Thunderbird, but in Outlook you can click the "Print Options" button on the Print screen, you can then select which pages you want to print.
 

bilabonic

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
2,675
Likes
15
#8
Could try print screening it if all else fails. Lightshot or snipping tool are great.
Tried printing whole screen, can't get all the detals i need, same with snipping tool...You can't scroll whilst snippping...
 

leemoo

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2009
Messages
1,585
Likes
31
#9
Pretty sure you could scroll with Snagit.

Other option is to open a Word document and use the snipit tool to grab the bits you need and then copy and paste it into the Word doc.
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,220
Likes
123
#10
Just put one sheet of paper in your printer :proud:
If you don't want to empty your print queue each time just put one of your "scrap" sheets behind the good one
 
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
6
Likes
0
#11
There are several free "PDF Printers" available that you can install.

CutePDF and PDFCreator are the two I'd recommend.

Once installed they show up as a printer, you can just print whatever you like and it prompts you where you would like to save the PDF.

If you're still set on printing them, you could print just pg1, but I'd just recommend keeping a backup of that folder to save paper :Doc:
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
18
Likes
0
#13
I would suggest to purchase and install Acrobat Standard or above, which will also install the PDF distiller and PDF printer drivers and this then will allow you to print to PDF from any application. However the number of non-Adobe free resources cost nothing and work great as well. I have read good reviews about CutePDF.
 

installer

Active Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2009
Messages
1,303
Likes
4
#14
Bring the receipt up on your smartphone expand it to fill the screen including the bits your looking for, take s screen shot then print the screen shot


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2013
Messages
95
Likes
4
#15
mine comes up with a box like this on the top left it say print range there i can choose to print all one or whatever i would assume most printers have something of the same nature within their software i assume you have got your printers software loaded on to your pc
 

Attachments

nara

Who?
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
14,744
Likes
238
#16
mine comes up with a box like this on the top left it say print range there i can choose to print all one or whatever i would assume most printers have something of the same nature within their software i assume you have got your printers software loaded on to your pc
I've had Lexmark, Canon, Epson, and HP printers and always had this dialogue, so not sure why bilabonic doesn't.

...but if it ain't there then chookey's solution in post #10 is the simplest and least complicated way around.
 

Mark P

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
16
Likes
2
#18
Thunderbird lets you to select which pages you wish to print.
On the 'Print' dialogue (Ctrl+P) , choose the 'Pages' option in the 'Range' section and type '1' into the textbox. Then hit the 'Print' button.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2015
Messages
154
Likes
0
#20
if all else fails, set printer to print both sides. one side with what u need other the crap = 1 page.
bit of a cop out but sorts ur paper wastage.