250 Probs

squirelleyes

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 18, 2006
Messages
329
Reaction score
2
Hi all

Just got a 250 today & it seems to have flashed ok & i've put in a new mac but i'm having trouble connecting to the net.
I'm on pure ntl & i've got these to show if any1 can pin point anything it would be apprieciated thanx

Startup Procedure
Procedure Status Comment
Acquire Downstream Channel 402750000 Hz Locked
Connectivity State In Progress Upstream Parameters Acquired
Boot State In Progress Unknown
Configuration File In Progress
Security Disabled Disabled

Lock Status Locked Modulation QAM256
Channel ID 30 Symbol rate 5360537
Downstream Frequency 402750000 Hz Downstream Power -6.0 dBmV
SNR 38.7 dB

Lock Status Not Locked Modulation QPSK
Channel ID 1 Symbol rate 2560 Ksym/sec
Upstream Frequency 33600000 Hz Upstream Power 24.0 dBmV

Information
Standard Specification Compliant DOCSIS 2.0
Hardware Version 3349
Software Version 5.01.01.000_004(III)
Cable Modem MAC Address ff:ff:ff:ff:ee:ff
Cable Modem USB MAC Address 00:05:10:06:5f:b7
Cable Modem Serial Number CM053586690xxxx
CM certificate Installed

Status
System Up Time 0 days 00h:03m:49s
Network Access Denied
Cable Modem IP Address 0.0.0.0
 

gentlex

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
4,775
Reaction score
62
Hi all

Just got a 250 today & it seems to have flashed ok & i've put in a new mac but i'm having trouble connecting to the net.
I'm on pure ntl & i've got these to show if any1 can pin point anything it would be apprieciated thanx

Startup Procedure
Procedure Status Comment
Acquire Downstream Channel 402750000 Hz Locked
Connectivity State In Progress Upstream Parameters Acquired
Boot State In Progress Unknown
Configuration File In Progress
Security Disabled Disabled

Lock Status Locked Modulation QAM256
Channel ID 30 Symbol rate 5360537
Downstream Frequency 402750000 Hz Downstream Power -6.0 dBmV
SNR 38.7 dB

Lock Status Not Locked Modulation QPSK
Channel ID 1 Symbol rate 2560 Ksym/sec
Upstream Frequency 33600000 Hz Upstream Power 24.0 dBmV

Information
Standard Specification Compliant DOCSIS 2.0
Hardware Version 3349
Software Version 5.01.01.000_004(III)
Cable Modem MAC Address ff:ff:ff:ff:ee:ff
Cable Modem USB MAC Address 00:05:10:06:5f:b7
Cable Modem Serial Number CM053586690xxxx
CM certificate Installed

Status
System Up Time 0 days 00h:03m:49s
Network Access Denied
Cable Modem IP Address 0.0.0.0

try another mac m8
 

squirelleyes

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 18, 2006
Messages
329
Reaction score
2
All good i've got a connection there now id inserted the mac addy wrong.

Now to force the modem to use the 10mb config file.
Reconnect to the modem via telnet using Hypertermal (as you did before)
Type in:

Code:
cd \non
cd doc
dhcp_settings
My IP Address: [192.168.100.1]
Subnet Mask: [255.255.255.0]
Router IP Address: [192.168.100.254] Im not running through a router so do i leave this blank ?

Those are the only 3 that really need to be changed.
Do you want to change the other settings? [no] Y
TFTP Server IP Address: [10.10.10.254] type in the IP of your TFTP server HERE
Where do I find the IP TFTP Server at
Config file name: [cm.bin] cmreg-ntlhm120-bund03.cm
Time Server IP Address: [10.10.10.254]
SysLog Server IP Address: [10.10.10.254]

Now type in the following lines:

Code:
enable force_cfgfile true
write

Cheers all
 
Last edited:

gentlex

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
4,775
Reaction score
62
Router IP Address: [192.168.100.254 said:
Im not running through a router so do i leave this blank

yes



TFTP Server IP Address: [10.10.10.254] type in the IP of your TFTP server HERE
Where do I find the IP TFTP Server at


just right click on ur local area connection go to status then support then details
and u should see dhcp server xx.XXx.xx.xx thats ur tftp server ip
 

english

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 14, 2006
Messages
5,571
Reaction score
101
Location
pepperland
are you programming the usb mac only? i could never get a usb port to connect to the net subbed or otherwise :(
 

squirelleyes

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 18, 2006
Messages
329
Reaction score
2
Cheers gentlex i'll give that a go

No i've not touched the usb English am guessing it was already set up like that when i got it i've noticed myself that its there, but I havn't set it up.
Its for the 360 anyways so it wont get used.

Cheers guys
 

Nygie

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
sorry to hijack the thread, but i have a similar problem.
I have tftp server running for the modem to get config file from, but where do i get the config file from??
 

gentlex

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
4,775
Reaction score
62
sorry to hijack the thread, but i have a similar problem.
I have tftp server running for the modem to get config file from, but where do i get the config file from??

to get 10 mb use this config file

ntl cmreg-ntlhm250-bund03.cm

tw cm-10240-384
 

Nygie

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
i get waiting for tftp server, do i ohysically need the xx.cm files in the tftp directory.... if so where do i get these cm files from.
forgive me for being a little thick, but it appears that the modem is trying to connect to the tftp server for the config files, but I don't have them????
 

Nygie

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
Sounds like that's where i'm getting confused, it's pulling from the cable company's tftp not mine!!!! DOH
When the tut says "your tftp server" it doesn't actually mean mine, but the tftp server of the cc!
 
TEST
Top