Wireless Setup for ADSL

breeze

Inactive User
Reaction score
I have finally decided to get broadband installed and I want to set-up a wireless network for my wi-fi laptop. The broadband modem came this morning and it connects to my PC via USB. What sort of kit do I need to set up a wireless network? Do I need a router or a router/modem and anything else. Sorry if this is a daft question but I am totally new to wi-fi.

you have a couple of options first you will need a network card or a wireless one you need a ethernet modem a wireless router access point with 4 port switch or best of all a wireless adsl modem gateway look here www.netgear.co.uk all the info is there

I have a top class setup which isnt too expensive. Wireless router D-link DI-614+ and D-link AirPlus DWL-650+ card.
The laptop is wireless anywhere in my three storey townhouse.
Simple to set up especially if you have Win XP.

Have a look at the www.linksys.com.
I have tried the netgear router and had nothing but trouble with them....

Check out the linksys WAG54G its got a built in ADSL modem + and all the firewall stuff.

If your going for cable broadband I can recommend the WRT54GS.

I have the the one for TW broadband with the tweaked software...its works a treat.

Hope this helps

:angelwing

There seem to be 2 types of router. 1 for cable broadband and 1 for ADSL.
Make sure you get the correct version :)

Thanks alot for your help guys. I think I'll opt for the Linksys Wireless 4 Port Adsl Gateway WAG54G, they are £69 on ebuyer, I won't be buying for a couple of days so if anyone sees a better deal let me know.

Have a look on simply.co.uk I got mine from there and the delivery was free.

Got mine last week...so you might be lucky :angelwing

@breeze, if you are going to be using the router for your broadband connection, you do NOT need the ADSL router. Get a broadband router. Different concepts between the two altogether!

:Cheers: