wireless belkin router

jon2005

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
409
Reaction score
4
is there any unofficial software to boost the range of this router, have asked before and gave up the search after a couple of weeks then just recently came across another reference to unofficial wireless router software for boosting the range on these routers on another website but as usual the links faded and died. any1 with any info i would very much appreciate it. 1 other question i,ve just recently encrypted my network and every now and again my laptop says there no singal then after a couple of minutes it re-appears again just as strong as before, any help on this would also be appreciated. many thanks jon
 

geeuk

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 29, 2005
Messages
798
Reaction score
2
Location
UK
mate belkin is the crappist make.

check on your laptop if your prefed access point is the belkins one
 

jon2005

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
409
Reaction score
4
hi geeuk, thanks for the reply m8, yes its the prefered one. its the only one round here which is a pity lol. the only reason i bought the belkin for which i,ve had for about 4 year now is the life time guarantee. i agree other than that it is pretty crap. but much appreciated anyway. jon
 

nara

Who?
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
15,610
Reaction score
5,994
Location
Funksjonærbyen
geeuk said:
mate belkin is the crappist make.

Really! Never had any problems and always found it the easiest to set up.
jon m8, trying to extend your range with software is a dead end. You really need to be looking at a range extender or a booster aerial. Check out these links:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/5dB-2-4Ghz-Hi...838407036QQcategoryZ61816QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Belkin-Wirele...838694284QQcategoryZ44997QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/WIRELESS-NETW...839060906QQcategoryZ61816QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
 

jon2005

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
409
Reaction score
4
hi narabdela, an excellent idea m8 dunno why i didnt think of it b4. cheers jon
 

zhinkler

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
233
Reaction score
3
make sure the router's configured to transmit on full power. this increases the range.
also let window's handle your wireless connection if it isn't set up that way already.
 
TEST
Top