which box to get

Richy-G

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hello all ,

I'm just a newbie to satellite tv (used to using cable dbox2 though), I've been looking at the dreambox's I don't really want to spend much over £100 on my first box.

What are people's views on the dm600 s compared to the dm500 s ?

As I have read the pq is better on the dm600 and you can install more plugins etc.

I currently have sky in and I'm wanting to keep the current dish to recieve regular uk sky. until I upgrade it to a bigger motorised one.

what do you guys recommend the best way to go is ?

If you can stretch to 140 you can get a Dreambox 800HD clone running Enigma 2 a lot better then E1 Dm500 or 600.

The 600 has more RAM, plug n play swappable tuners and can support PVR and internal hard disk. Suports IDE hard disk though not SATA.

a 600 costs around 80 quid or less for a clone. The Dm500 is a solid little box you wont get better for the same price (50 - 60 quid), but it's a bit limited in terms of epg etc because of the low amount of RAM. A 600 can do 7 day epg etc..if you have a hard drive installed.

Any Dream has very good levels of software support and multiple different images to choose from PLI, Gemini, Nabolosat etc...

I've owned 500, 600 and 800HD clones all have been very good and stable. The 800HD suffers from slight gliches on some HD channels this is cured in most cases with a inline booster..The new rev M tuner apparently fixes this...I havent seen this confirmed 100% yet though. Either way you still wont find a better HD box for the price.

If you can stretch to 140 you can get a Dreambox 800HD clone running Enigma 2 a lot better then E1 Dm500 or 600.

The 600 has more RAM, plug n play swappable tuners and can support PVR and internal hard disk. Suports IDE hard disk though not SATA.