• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Wanted:- Advise on a new motor, dish & LNB

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,114
Likes
30
#1
Well I shall be tackling my sat dish and motor today to see if I can re-align after the bad Christmas winds knocked it ski-wiff. The motor is a highly trusty HH motor and the dish is a 80cm some unknown brand (not sure about the quad LNB).

After well over 10 years the dish is looking worse for wear and looks unsightly so I'm pretty sure that will be the first to get changed out. Any advise on a good cheap quality dish and would a mesh dish help with the winds ?.

Next the motor, I've read that the HH stab motor (think its a HH 100 could be a 120) are about the best on the market and at first site it works OK. I have had in the past a few problems were the motor gets confused and you have to keep going to "0" in the positioner setup so the motor can get it's bearings but if it works then I can save a few bob but, what would be a good alternative for a 88-90cm dish ?. Also , can you go inside these and grease up or something ?

Finally the quad LNB, the dish serves living room (main box) and the other rooms upstairs for the kids. I really don't know whats on at the moment other than it's a quad so, does it make a difference the make quality wise and the DB ? which would be a good option ?.

I might not change the lot , I might only change the dish but if I have to then any advice on which brands would be handy and any links to eBay or stores would be great. It doesn't have to be the best brands just reliable for a few years.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
956
Likes
20
#2
I've got a 1m funke dish up and it does the job well, also technomate dish (cheap), triax (possible difficult to fit), penta, facarro. or any cheap brand.

Motors Tm2300 or TM2600 or any dark motors brands

LNB what about Inverto Black Ultra.

ki
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,114
Likes
30
#3
Thanks for them , you see, I've not a clue when it comes to manufacturer's quality and whats good or bad with sat stuff. I wouldn't know if a dearer dish or dearer lnb would make a bird of difference. I do know that I struggled to get 16e and it's a clear view line here.
I've have a hunt round now for those , cheers

...........

follow up, what's the difference between a "quad" LNB and a "QUATTRO LNB" bar £7
 

manic01

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2008
Messages
12,597
Likes
28
#4
Quad LNB
The quad LNB provides four outputs, each capable of providing each of the four frequency bands and polarizations. The LNB outputs are switched by the satellite receiver, as explained above, with a 22Hz tone and a switching voltage. This is like a universal LNB with four outputs.
In a simple residential satellite TV installation it is normal to install a quad LNB. In a Sky installation, often two of the outputs from a quad LNB will be used to feed a Sky+ receiver (it has two feeds so you can record while watching live TV), with either the other two feeding a second Sky+ receiver or just a single output feeding a regular Sky box.
A quad LNB is ideal where a maximum of four satellite feeds is required and there is not much possibility of expansion. Quad LNB is also ideal for TBS 6894 satellite quad tuner card building.
Quattro LNB
The quattro LNB provides four outputs, each with a single band/polarization specific to that output. The band/polarization available at each output is fixed at the time of manufacture. It is not possible to switch the band/polarization with a tone or switching voltage.
A quattro LNB is normally used to feed a large distribution system. A single dish with a quattro LNB fitted and a multiswitch (or IRS) is able to feed anything between 4 and 100 locations. The multiswitch (or IRS) is able to provide any of the input signals at each output, depending on a tone/voltage sent up the cable by the receiver at each location. It’s as though the receiver at each location has it’s own dedicated LNB.
The outputs on a multiswitch (or IRS) are able to be controlled with a 22Hz tone and switching voltages in the same way that the outputs from normal universal LNB can be, i.e. to change band and polarisation. The satellite receivers in each of the locations behave as though they are connected to their own dedicated dish and LNB, but in reality are just connected to a multiswitch (or IRS) output.Quattro LNBs are considered to have a better lifetime than quad LNBs as they are not being continually switched.
Although a quattro LNB typically looks similar to a quad LNB, it cannot (sensibly) be connected to receivers directly. Note again the difference between a quad and a quattro LNB: A quad LNB can drive four tuners directly, with each output providing signals from the entire Ku band. A quattro LNB is for connection to a multiswitch in a shared dish distribution system and each output provides only a quarter of the Ku band signals.
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,114
Likes
30
#5
On a similar subject ,

is there a decent easy to use app for android that shows signal strength for aligning the dish ?. Something say were I can log on to the box IP, see the SNR bar and get it spot on ?. I have a cheap screwfix signal finder that beeps but I prefer to see a bar rate on a tablet or phone while up the ladder.

I've tried a couple but they were shite
 

Magnu420

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
2,275
Likes
12
#6
Goto to dishpointer.com (i think) theres an app thats what i use to line dish up

sent from 2 tin cans and some string
 

digi247

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
3,116
Likes
71
#7
I would say if your going for a Mesh type dish then Technomate do some 80cm which look like re-badged ISS dishes which are not too bad, if you went for the 80cm then the TM2300 should stand you well and the new revised M2 versions have some nice quality Brackets,Nuts etc compared to the older type so should not rust up as quick.

LNB then go for the Black Ultra Quad probably the best Quad, as for the signal finder i see you have the Zgemma H.2 then if you have an android phone use krkadoni signal meter switch on your wi-fi connect to the box and you get both AGC and SNR readings on your phone works a treat
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,114
Likes
30
#8
Do you think a 88cm-90cm would make that much difference over a shitty 80cm I've got on right now ?. I do struggle with a couple of sats 16e been one.
 

digi247

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
3,116
Likes
71
#9
I only mentioned an 80cm mesh as its a good all rounder for the medium to high power satellites, although an 80cm should be plenty big enough for reception at 16° east. Is there anything in particular you watch on there as i know Tring went a few weeks back with only a handful of digitalalb channels left
 

Ferret

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
11,182
Likes
323
#11
You know what ive had a stabb mount 15 years or more still going strong no issues at all with it. I also know of stabb mounts ive installed that are 12 years plus no issues. Mine only has a 80cm dish on it but living on the edge of a nature reserve that mount and dish gets battered by the elements and its still going.

Ive installed darkmotors TM motors etc and ive nothing against them but ive no info how long they will last.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
113
Likes
0
#13
If you are serving other boxes with your existing dish then you will need a 2nd dish to go motorised...if i,m reading this right you would need a fixed 28.2 feed to allow the other bedrooms permanent access to sly...otherwise your motorised dish will knock everyone off 28.2 when you start searching various satellites.

88cm triax minimum i would recommend or a 1.1 max on a diseqc motor with an inverto black ultra twin lnb// single output inverto lnb if its a single tuner box you have have but a twin should future proof you:)

As for motors feret is right as the old stab motors are great///they just dont build things like they used to... i am currently using an AMIKO DM-3800 diseqc motor but i have used and serviced plenty of others like the technomate... i found the technomate even with metal gears failed miserably with the arm itself becoming loose which is a nightware even with slight winds...personally i dont think the technomates were tested properly with dishes as large as the 1.1 but heho

Good luck
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,114
Likes
30
#14
It's a HH100 Stab motor and I have got it working again. I'm beginning to think it's a couple of things both dish and LNB were bought 2nd hand and I think there cheap and nasty so I am going to replace them both as their not over dear.

The box in the living room serves the motor but I only use it for the footy and some movies and free fights so it's no inconvenience if the boxes go off upstairs for a short period of time. It's more of a hobby to me and I've always had a motor setup so it's nice still having it up and running God knows why but I do.

Would a 1.1m be OK on the HH100 ? or for what it's worth should I just get a decent quality 88cm and a black ultra quad LNB ?. Will these make much of a difference to the system set up ?.
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,114
Likes
30
#15
Just a quickie, this is the marking for the dish elevation. Do I set it by lining up the middle of the screw to the correct angle or the back or front of the bar (hope this makes sense)



20160109_140535.jpg
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
2,114
Likes
30
#16
Just sent you a PM @silverdale offering you my 88cm Triax dish if you want it?
just pm'ed you oily , I deleted all my inbox I cant remember what you said . thanks
 
Last edited by a moderator: