• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Vista 64-bit

Monty

Member +
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
420
Likes
1
#1
Hi I have a 64-bit proccessor and just wondered if I should install the 32 bit or 64 bit version of Vista. I hear there are a lot of driver issues with the 64 bit version. Any members having problems ?

cheers
Monty
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Likes
103
#2
Unless there is something that you specifically need, like > 4GB RAM support of something application specific, I would steer clear for now. Not only driver but application support is patchy.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
6,926
Likes
65
#3
I beg to differ, I have Vista Ultimate 64bit, I have drivers for all of my hardware. I dont have anything wierd or exotic connected, so that may be the basis for my luck. Plus, all of the software I have installed is fine.

A couple of guys at work have it on their laptops also, and they have had no problems at all.
 

Dalk

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
127
Likes
2
#4
It's worth using the 64bit potential of your cpu. Why not backup 32bit config and tryout and benchmark 64 bit?

Time, effort and headache ....yes
 

little_pob

Jnr admin
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,692
Likes
344
#5
Vista 64 is fine. 32bit games and apps work great.

Feel free to check that you can get drivers for your hardware first. But most of the major brands have released drivers for Vista or MS have bundled with Vista.

The only issue I've heard of is getting Vista drivers (both 64bit and 32bit) for Creative's older webcams. However, IIRC, Creative did the same with XP and webcams made in the Win98 era...
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
6,926
Likes
65
#6
they certainly did, and if memory serves, it is all of their products that suffered. I think there was a recent court case concerning a chap who took the creative sound card drivers and "made them better" for Vista 64bit
 

little_pob

Jnr admin
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,692
Likes
344
#7
Well from personal experience I'm less than impressed by their X-Fi range, as are many others.

My 'gamers edition' X-Fi makes horrible crackling noises on my P35 mobo. Creative insist the crackling only occurs on a handfull of nf4 motherboards and can only be sorted by nvidia in the form of chipset drivers - this is complete bollocks of course. Its down to Creative not building in an ample buffer to compensate for PCI saturation.

There are various fixes; from custom drivers to BIOS settings to disabling the Creative sound mixer. However, I've bought a Xonar DX2 from ASUS instead. Twice the price (still, cheaper than the X-Fi based cards from Auzentech) but it sounds wonderful.
 
Last edited: