• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

upgrade ( out of date all ready )

dibbers

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
May 18, 2005
Messages
11,797
Likes
147
#1
hey all wasn't to long ago when i popped into the local computer shop and bought a amd 64 bit socket 939 processor.

AMD Athlon 64, 2000 MHz (10 x 200) 3200+

Now i've decided that since my board can support all the way up to Athlon 64x2 4800+ i thought well why the hell not.

It would seem that the only cpu that i can get my hands on now for this board is a 3200 so no change, the am2's go way up to 5200 but they have an extra pin on them so they wont go in my board.

I'll have to buy a new MB if i wan't to start upgrading, this pi**es me off big time.

They have stopped making the chips and that that i need and i only had MB for about 1 and a half years.

day'um, shud this go in the rant section?
eveything you ever buy is instantly outdated by the time you walk out the shop and the cleverr people at the design stage are like, i know we'll add an extra pin and force everyone that want's our cpu's to buy new MB as well...


Grrrrr
 

dibbers

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
May 18, 2005
Messages
11,797
Likes
147
#5
ahhhh good old fleabay....guess i never even thought about that.

Cheers for the help.

Just me letting a bit of steam of today i guess...chill out sunday...


Thanks again
 

little_pob

Jnr admin
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,698
Likes
349
#6
It wouldn't just be the mobo you'd have to upgrade tho. AM2s use DDR2 RAM which would further add to the cost...
 

Erbs

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
2,158
Likes
37
#8
thats the thing when upgrading,i have just started fresh with duo core processor,any hardware you buy now is out of date as soon as you walk out of the shop with it,just have to accept that technology is always steaming ahead.
 

fes_786

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2005
Messages
3,894
Likes
61
#9
im running a amd64 3700+ socket 939 on a asusa8n32sli deluxe mobo

my fookin mobo is double the price of my cpu now!!

this was last year i got it...lol

got the cpu for £180!! and now its £50

im gona get the amd64 X2 4800 and overclock it to the max to bump up the speed

and maybe upgrade my ram to 2GB corsair extreme
 

dibbers

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
May 18, 2005
Messages
11,797
Likes
147
#10
i know aint it like that, i can't remeber how many mb's i've had i mean i must have had about 10 in the past 6 - 7 years if not more, not to mention how many powerpacks and that.

day'um it sucks
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2005
Messages
666
Likes
12
#11
im running a amd64 3700+ socket 939 on a asusa8n32sli deluxe mobo

my fookin mobo is double the price of my cpu now!!

this was last year i got it...lol

got the cpu for £180!! and now its £50

im gona get the amd64 X2 4800 and overclock it to the max to bump up the speed

and maybe upgrade my ram to 2GB corsair extreme
only place you going to find amd64 4800 x2 939 is on ebay and there go around £170 to £200. there are very hard to come across, because AMD stop making them. Dont give up hope, keep looking on ebay like me..i got a bargain few weeks back Amd64 4800 x2 cpu + Asus A8N32 sli deluxe MB and Zalman fan 9700 all for £190
 

fes_786

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2005
Messages
3,894
Likes
61
#12
only place you going to find amd64 4800 x2 939 is on ebay and there go around £170 to £200. there are very hard to come across, because AMD stop making them. Dont give up hope, keep looking on ebay like me..i got a bargain few weeks back Amd64 4800 x2 cpu + Asus A8N32 sli deluxe MB and Zalman fan 9700 all for £190
i know a few shops who got it instock

lol

oem version though but still good

onlything ur missing is heat sink

but im using watercooling so dont need it

lol