Technomate 9100 - Do I, Don't I

ellenbee

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi all, newbie so bear with me.:FRIGHT:

Firstly a bit about me. I say newbie, thats true for Linux based boxes. I've been running $lySt@r2 PCI Card via pc for about 2 1/2 years and am ok with that. Have been viewing all that I could from this system.

Now thinking about a Linux based box and have been spurned on by the current price of the TM9100. I know some people that have a Dre@mbox, and they think it's the dogs doodaa's, but frankly I haven't got the time to devote to something that is gonna cost me about £300 up (family guy - plenty of decorating to do - get the picture [no pun intended]).

I would like to get involved with something that I can learn from, but am not spending 12 hours a day for 3-4 weeks just to get a glimpse of a picture. I know sat life is very fluid - sometimes it's there, sometimes it's not), but stability when it is their is key.

I haven't done much Linux, but I've set up my own network at home (6 boxes). I've done DOS command stuff before Win took hold and have also done Pascal, C, VB, assembler and machine code on Motorola 6800 & 68000 based uproc's as well as PIC's. Never used FTP - is it tricky or straight forward?

Is the TM9100 something that you think I'll get to grips with? I've read a lot of the other posts but am finding it difficult to gauge how much behind the scenes support there is for this box.

Fanx for reading

Ellen

it's actually a very easy box to set up m8.
downlod TCC (technomate control centre) available from here, UR009 beta 2 and connect box to router via ethenet lead and you can be up and running with new image clearing D+,Premiere and TPS within 10mins once you've scanned the satellites