sata?????

wozzo

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
1,777
Reaction score
66
What drive do you have.

I would say hitachi it should work.


But with sammys or benQs you need a VIA sata chipset.

Unless you have seen elsewere that it is possible.
 

marra

DW Regular
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
4,623
Reaction score
182
Location
The rats nest of wires behind my TV
if they work that would be ideal, think ill look into this too but tbh ive done all 3 types using my motherboard with a nividia chipset unless im lucky other chipsets may do the trick trial and error i guess.
 

mxwizard

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
1,541
Reaction score
25
It seems you have confused me ol' mate manutd4life lads lol.

He was looking for a yes/no to whether anyone knows if this particular esata express card will work.

there are lots of stories around that this drive and that drive can't be flashed using notebooks/laptops using an esata II express card but if you have a good read around there are also stories where peeps claim they've done it.

I have recently read a post wheras someone claims they flashed a sammy drive using an esata II express card with the jmb 360 chipset. I had already found a card that uses this chipset before I read the post so it looks as if it may be the answer for those of you that are wanting to flash their drive using a notebook/laptop. You can find the card here...

h**p://www.usbnow.co.uk/PCMCIA,_Express_&_PCI_Cards-Express_Cards/c7_28/p381/EXTREME_eSATAII_Express_Card_Adapter/product_info.html

You may well find it cheaper elsewhere...I don't know cos I didn't really bother to look any further in all honesty lol.

Just remember that if you are going to attempt using this type of card then your sata cable will need the esata I type connection one end and sata type L connection the other ;) ...like this one here...

h**p://www.cable-trader.co.uk/item.php?iid=1078

Will it work... I dont know but someone thinks it will and they say they've done it so I guess its as good a place as any to start if you dont have access to a desktop or just want the mobility of using a notebook/laptop.

Good luck folks :)
 

manutd4life

DW Regular
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
3,865
Reaction score
45
Location
all over the net
cheers matey, you are gonna kill me like because i have now decided to do it through the pc rather than the lappy. lol. i have a free slot on my pc that i may aswell use. do pc world and the likes do them cheapish or are they robbing [email protected]? plus wil they sell the sata leads im looking for?
cheers
 

mxwizard

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
1,541
Reaction score
25
cheers matey, you are gonna kill me like because i have now decided to do it through the pc rather than the lappy. lol. i have a free slot on my pc that i may aswell use. do pc world and the likes do them cheapish or are they robbing [email protected]? plus wil they sell the sata leads im looking for?
cheers

You are fookin' kiddin' me aren't you? :eek: lol... I thought you didnt have a desktop :grrrr: You're gonna find things much easier using a desktop as I said in the first place....You're a nightmare mate lol.

will this do, if not can someone point me in the right direction.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....m=260264119710&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=016

cheers

Like dave said mate...that will do the job...best to stick with the via6421 chipset. Theres quite a few threads on here with regards to the sata cards.... this is the one I've posted a link to previously

[ame="http://www.amazon.co.uk/VT6421A-PORT-SATA-SERIAL-CONTROLLER/dp/B000MR7SNS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1206569167&sr=8-1"]http://www.amazon.co.uk/VT6421A-PORT-SATA-SERIAL-CONTROLLER/dp/B000MR7SNS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1206569167&sr=8-1[/ame]

The card itself is actually slightly more expensive than the one you found on ebay but not when you add the shipping ;) This one from amazon actually works out cheaper in the end as the shipping for it is only 99p mate.
 

manutd4life

DW Regular
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
3,865
Reaction score
45
Location
all over the net
@ dave, cheers mate

@mx, ermmmm im sure i said id prefer to use the lappy but then when i found there is an empty slot i thought i may aswell use that on the pc instead.lol. well it kept you busy for a while. lol. might order that and the leads tonight then. so prepare yourself for loads more questions. lol.
cheers
 

dave24

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
3,332
Reaction score
773
Location
East Midlands
make sure you get a decent length sata cable,i got the 1 metre length one
 
TEST
Top