PVR type functionality but using a Dbox

Munkey

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
5,849
Reaction score
179
I was just wondering if any such product exits. I'm running a Dbox and want to record from it 'PVR' style where I can pause record and then come back 5 mins later to carry on watching the whole program.

I know that I can just link up a dvd recorder with a HDD, but is it possible to do this as a PVR normaly records of its own internal tuner?

I hope this makes sense to someone lol as I know sod all about dvd recorders etc. I'm from the VCR old skool :)
 

hacka

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
120
Reaction score
0
Location
England
I was just wondering if any such product exits. I'm running a Dbox and want to record from it 'PVR' style where I can pause record and then come back 5 mins later to carry on watching the whole program.

I know that I can just link up a dvd recorder with a HDD, but is it possible to do this as a PVR normaly records of its own internal tuner?

I hope this makes sense to someone lol as I know sod all about dvd recorders etc. I'm from the VCR old skool :)

DVD recorder with HDD is the best bet, the only difference is, instead of the built in tuner you will be recording from the Dbox connected with a scart lead.

Providing your watching through the DVD HDD recorder you should be able to pause / rewind /fast forward the recording whilst it is still being recorded.
 

pinkhelmets

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 10, 2001
Messages
5,187
Reaction score
174
Location
essex colchester-ipswich
or get a dreambox with HDD to replace your dbox. Look out for the new dm600 or the current dm7025 with twin tuners.
I use the dm7020 but thats for satellite and the inbuilt pvr works fantastic.
 

Munkey

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
5,849
Reaction score
179
I checked out the dreambox and it seems that it needs a good feed for a good picture. I've got a SLx Gold linked upto my Dbox and thats the only way for it to work as the signal is poor in my area.

I think I'll buy a dvd recorder for now. I'm sure I'll be bored in a few months with nothing to hack so the dm600 will probabaly be my new toy.
 

Devilfish

DW Regular
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
14,269
Reaction score
198
Location
Dream world
You could get an IDE interface for the dbox and connect up a hard disk.

Not sure of the capabilities, whether it's allow you to only record and playback or if it will act as a PVR. There are a few other members with this, hopefully they will clarify this. :)
 

westkill

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
1,212
Reaction score
7
Location
....? in my head lol
I checked out the dreambox and it seems that it needs a good feed for a good picture. I've got a SLx Gold linked upto my Dbox and thats the only way for it to work as the signal is poor in my area.

I think I'll buy a dvd recorder for now. I'm sure I'll be bored in a few months with nothing to hack so the dm600 will probabaly be my new toy.


ive got a dm 7025, tuner works better than the 500 c in my opinuon and i sure the dm 600 has same tuner as the 7025
 

Munkey

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
5,849
Reaction score
179
I saw that post by the guy (speedy??) about adding a HD to the dbox. I dont mind opening the dbox up and having a go but there was no clear way to get it working. I'll wait until one of the Dbox gurus creates a tutorial for us noobs before I get trigger happy with my philips screwdriver.

That 7025 looks interesting. According to the spec it can accept a HD drive. have you connected one up westkill? if so whats the performance like?
 

westkill

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
1,212
Reaction score
7
Location
....? in my head lol
I saw that post by the guy (speedy??) about adding a HD to the dbox. I dont mind opening the dbox up and having a go but there was no clear way to get it working. I'll wait until one of the Dbox gurus creates a tutorial for us noobs before I get trigger happy with my philips screwdriver.

That 7025 looks interesting. According to the spec it can accept a HD drive. have you connected one up westkill? if so whats the performance like?


i bought a 7025 without hdd the a few weeks later i bought a 300gb
and put it in ,the jumper cable is already installed so it a case of fix it to the chasis thats it really recording for the last 4 months ok
 

Munkey

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
5,849
Reaction score
179
Thanks mate for the info. Sorry one more noob question

Is the 7025 just for satellites or can it be used for NTL as well?
 

pinkhelmets

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 10, 2001
Messages
5,187
Reaction score
174
Location
essex colchester-ipswich
Thanks mate for the info. Sorry one more noob question

Is the 7025 just for satellites or can it be used for NTL as well?
The tuners are easily swapable (just like adding a pci card) so you can have 2 cable or 2 satellite or 1 of each or just 1 of your choice only. You can buy the tuner units seperately, or just make sure you buy a cable tuner version if you want it for cable.
 

Munkey

DW Regular
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
5,849
Reaction score
179
Thanks for the reply pinkhelmets. I really like the look of the device and will check one out :)
 
TEST
Top