programming language

pritesh

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi i want to learn how to start programming but im confused as to what language to start with. im a total beginner and have one bit of experience so obviously dont want something too hard to start with. i also dont want to learn something just to find out that its of no real use. my neighbour is a software engineer and told me that java is the best one to learn but have heard mixed things as to whether it is good for a beginner. would something like python be better? but like i said i dont want to learn something if i cant do anything with it.

thanks

to be honest mate i always think visual basic is a good starting point for any programmer its useful and its quite easy to learn there are many tutorials online i started programming with vb and i find you can use it for many different things.

since learning vb i have went on to learn c++ because i found that knowing vb helps you to understand other programming lanuages as well.

Just to say programming is not easy and its not hard you will get stuck sometimes but i found that asking for help and not the answer always the best way to learn

hi thanks for the advice, obviously i no its not going to be easy but nothing is and i dont mind putting the time in. is there any other advice you have, such as recommend readings for example.

so defiantly vb then? like i said before complete beginner

i used a book years ago to learn vb and i found it extremely useful but before that i just used tutorials on the net i'm now at home at the moment so i cant remember the name of the book i'll find out when i get home mate if i still have it you can have it

i'd say go for vb simply because i didnt find it extremly difficult other people might prefer other languages to start off with but i recommend vb