Perfect motherboard For Flashing?

showders

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 14, 2006
Messages
552
Likes
6
#1
My old pc has died. Going to make a new one and dont need anything special at all. Will only really be used for surfing, odd bit of downloading and hopefully to flash mine and my mates xboxes

So, Is there a perfect motherboard I should use to make flashing easier? If so, any ideas??

Cheers
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Likes
294
#3
I use a MSI KT8 with onboard Via chipset, straight forward flashing everytime.
 

cp52

Inactive User
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
10
Likes
0
#6
dosen't matter about the mobo just get a VIA 6421 PCI sata card £10-£20 from flea bay
 

Oggy

DW Member ++
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
2,365
Likes
87
#7
The VIA6421x cards have issues with some Hitachi 46/47 drives.

Nforce supports all Hitachi drives, SIL3112 supports 46/47/59 Hitachi Drives but not 78/79.

VIA can handle Hitachi's but not all of them, therefore not the best.
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,935
Likes
932
#8
dosen't matter about the mobo just get a VIA 6421 PCI sata card £10-£20 from flea bay
Thats' what I did and failed trying to flash a Benq drive. Have since tried an Hitachi 46 using Slax and have failed again.

The Slax software at least gave me a clue to the problem by saying that the boot device was unsupported. I have a sata hard drive and disc drive installed. Reckon perhaps that these need to be ide.
When I built this I went for an all singing all dancing setup but it sure as hell can't dance, lol.

Chookey
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Likes
294
#9
VIA can handle Hitachi's but not all of them, therefore not the best.
Maybe I'm just lucky, but my onboard Via chipset has never gagged on any Hitachi drive - apart from the obvious non-hackable ones.

Which ones are you saying it can't handle?
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Likes
294
#10
Thats' what I did and failed trying to flash a Benq drive. Have since tried an Hitachi 46 using Slax and have failed again.

The Slax software at least gave me a clue to the problem by saying that the boot device was unsupported. I have a sata hard drive and disc drive installed. Reckon perhaps that these need to be ide.
When I built this I went for an all singing all dancing setup but it sure as hell can't dance, lol.

Chookey

Chookey mate, send it to me and I'll gurrantee you I'll flash it.

I'll do it for FREE ofcourse, unlike a few of the traders on here.
 

Partycan

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
1,220
Likes
3
#11
sorry to but in but i have a P3 800 in the bedroom running windows ME...

? say i way to bye a sata card would this pc do for flashing a 360 or doss it have to be an XP setup.

cheers for any info
 

witchy

Banned for good!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
18,282
Likes
294
#12
Most of the solutions are independent of your OS as they boot into DOS via a boot-disk, an 800Mhz CPU is way more than enough for this stuff.

I see no reason for you having problems as long as you have a compatible SATA solution on your board, either onboard or via a PCI card.
 

Partycan

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
1,220
Likes
3
#13
cheers mate for getting back on this..yeh ill have to bye a sata card mate but thats about it....

anyone no of a good all rounder card to bye of flee-bay


:Cheers: mate
 

Partycan

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
1,220
Likes
3
#15
nice one ill have a look for a card in a minuet on flee-bay..

yeh sounds good only thing is i dident do mine the wizard did it for us lol and its me mate that wants his 360 dune lol ... i couldent get into doss with this pc on xp thats how come the wizard came to flashing it for us....

anyways this is why i was asking about the os on the other pc.. i no the p3 800 go's into doss no problem...the only thing is i dont wonna say to me mate yeh ill do it for ya and then end up bricking his drive trying to flash it lol..


cheers anyway mate ill see what the wizard has to say tomorrow


:Cheers:
 

Oggy

DW Member ++
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
2,365
Likes
87
#16
Maybe I'm just lucky, but my onboard Via chipset has never gagged on any Hitachi drive - apart from the obvious non-hackable ones.

Which ones are you saying it can't handle?
Some 0046/0047 Just wont go into modeb with a connectivity kit or Slax.

Podger at X-S has to use USB2Sata for these, I used to use SIL3112 until I got an NForce motherboard.

You can usually work around it by powering the drive at different times in the boot process.

I however, had one that would not work for love nor money - hence why I purchased an SIL3112 PCI Sata card.
 

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,935
Likes
932
#17
Chookey mate, send it to me and I'll gurrantee you I'll flash it.

I'll do it for FREE ofcourse, unlike a few of the traders on here.
Cheers for the offer witchy, much appreciated. Got to try and work this out for myself though. MX flashed my Benq for me, foc. Getting beat once is bad enough but twice is a no-no mate.
Have already added an ide hard drive ( removed from a tvdrive ) so will now also add an ide disc drive. Won't have the sata and ide connected at the same time, will run them as 2 seperate systems and see if this sorts my problems out, lol.
Its' got to be something simple..........hasn't it? :Biggrin2:

Chookey
 

mxwizard

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
1,541
Likes
25
#18
@ partycan... read this thread here mate :) this card works for the 360 drives ;)

https://www.digitalworldz.co.uk/index.php?threads/168291/

Cheers for the offer witchy, much appreciated. Got to try and work this out for myself though. MX flashed my Benq for me, foc. Getting beat once is bad enough but twice is a no-no mate.
Have already added an ide hard drive ( removed from a tvdrive ) so will now also add an ide disc drive. Won't have the sata and ide connected at the same time, will run them as 2 seperate systems and see if this sorts my problems out, lol.
Its' got to be something simple..........hasn't it?

Chookey
When it comes to the actual flashing of the 360 drive you need to have raid disabled ;) Also I dont have any hard drives or rom drives connected... I pull both the sata hard drive and the ide drives cables from the mobo and boot from a usb stick using iprep.

Just copied this from the tut incase it was missed ....

VIA SATA
Just some notes about users of VIA SATA chipsets. This is for both onboard chipsets (like the 8237) as well as the PCI cards (6421).
A common problem is detecting the drive with MTKFlash with VIA chipsets. For some reason, many people have this problem when using the external ports on the VIA SATA cards, or the “1” port if using internal. What seems to work best for most people is always using the primary “0” SATA port. On the PCI SATA cards, this is almost always an internal port. If there are multiple internal ports, use the port closest to the front of your PC.

Also, the latest VIA SATA drivers are available... When you run through the installation wizard, uncheck (don’t install) the VIA RAID Tool. Just install the drivers.



Hope this helps Chookey :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

chookey

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
3,935
Likes
932
#20
When it comes to the actual flashing of the 360 drive you need to have raid disabled ;) Also I dont have any hard drives or rom drives connected... I pull both the sata hard drive and the ide drives cables from the mobo and boot from a usb stick using iprep.

Just copied this from the tut incase it was missed ....

VIA SATA
Just some notes about users of VIA SATA chipsets. This is for both onboard chipsets (like the 8237) as well as the PCI cards (6421).
A common problem is detecting the drive with MTKFlash with VIA chipsets. For some reason, many people have this problem when using the external ports on the VIA SATA cards, or the “1” port if using internal. What seems to work best for most people is always using the primary “0” SATA port. On the PCI SATA cards, this is almost always an internal port. If there are multiple internal ports, use the port closest to the front of your PC.

Also, the latest VIA SATA drivers are available... When you run through the installation wizard, uncheck (don’t install) the VIA RAID Tool. Just install the drivers.



Hope this helps Chookey :)
hiya mx, the Benq problem was a strange one. I was using the primary via port, the one nearest the front of my pc. Once in about every 5 attempts I was able to read the drive before it would halt with an overflow error.
Can't remember being given a choice to disable raid but will uninstall and try again. I had also disconnected my drives for the Benq failure.

When I had a go at my mates' hitachi 46, I used the slax cd so obviously needed the disc drive. The 360 drive went into mode b no problem but I kept getting an unsupported boot device error and it specifically said sata.
As you know, this method flashes the drive through windows so am gonna see how I get on with an ide drive.

Wished to hell I knew what I was talking about. Bring back the cable section, lol.

@ partycan...sorry for hijacking your thread mate.

Chookey
 
TEST
Top