openvpn vu duo2 using vix Help! on set up configuration files

st3v3n

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Sorry to ask the same question. I am using Openvix 5 on Duo2. I have OpenVpn set on my box .I have a VPN provider Digibit, they have sent me the following ca.crt, openvpn config files and I have my user and pass word. I have tried using Telnet via the Vu+ Control Centre, but it say options error: In CMD-LINE. Can I use FileZilla. I have enclosed 2 Pics 1 is the config file set up. Any advice.
 

Attachments

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
459
better yet, install samba in network settings and the receiver will appear as a network drive on your windows computer file explorer.
 

st3v3n

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Thanks for reply. How do I go about setting up the ca.crt, openvpn config files and user and pass word.
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
459
First of all see if you can run the ovpn files by using the command below

openvpn /<path_to_ovpnfile>/<name_of_opvnfile>.ovpn.
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
459
no transfer over the .ovpn files your provider gave you.

let say you put the files in a folder called openvpn which is in the etc folder the the path would be /etc/openvpn/

now lets say the name of the .ovpn file is uk.ovpn

then the command you run would be

openvpn /etc/openvpn/uk.ovpn​
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
459
do u have a .ovpn file in the folder /etc/openvpn ?

can you run this command for me please.

ls /etc/openvpn
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
459
You don't have a folder(directory) called openvpn in the etc folder.

Make a folder called openvpn in the etc folder and then copy all the .ovpn files over into that folder.

The run the command I gave you earlier replacing the uk.ovpn with the name of a .ovpn file in the openvpn folder.
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
459
copy over all the other files that your vpn provider sent to into the same folder and run it again.

its all in the link i posted earlier.
you will need an ovpn file and cert to run from cmdline and will be prompted for the credentials when starting.

if you want to run it from the GUI then you will have to change the ovpn file to "Client.conf" and add the line "auth-user-pass login.txt" to the Client.conf.
then you must create a file called "login.txt" with the VPN account username on the first line and your VPN account password on the second line.

everything is in the guide i link to.
 

st3v3n

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Thanks for reply. when you say from GUI are you talking about restart from my box. If I change the ovpn file to "Client.conf" and add the line "auth-user-pass login.txt" do I have change each client.cong File .
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
459
yes GUI(Graphical user interface) means from the remote using the TV screen. using something like telnet or ssh on your PC is called command line interface(CLI).

you can only have 1 client.conf

for example if you want to use the uk vpn server you will have to change the uk.ovpn to client.conf and add the line "auth-user-pass login.txt".

now lets say you want to use the italy vpn server. first you must stop openvpn. you must then delete or rename the uk client.conf and rename the italy.opvn file to client.conf and add the line "auth-user-pass login.txt".

so basicly choose which ever VPN server you think is best as it requires a few minutes to change.
 

st3v3n

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Post 34, you say I need an ovpn file and cert. Is the cert to one where you have a Begin Cert and End Cert. what do I name it in notepad. So I don't need the ca.crt in the openvpn folder.
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
459
the cert is a file your provider should of given you and it will need to be in the openvpn folder.

its should end in .crt. you shouldnt have to touch this file. just the .ovpn file when you rename it client.conf and add the line "auth-user-pass login.txt"

what kind of files did your provider give you. was it just .ovpn? you may not even need the cert. thats why i was asking you previously to run the command openvpn nameOfServer.vpn.

some providers have the cert in the ovpn file. just try following that guide i linked earlier pretty much everything is in that.
 

st3v3n

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
alankellyeire thanks for help me setting opevvpn. I am trying to setup multiple flies. enclosed is a pic. where do I go from here.
 

Attachments

TEST
Top