No picture, jumping sound, hardly any channels found! what more can go wrong?

neilmc1983

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi all,

i'm new to this dbox lark and have lots of problems, i'll try and give as much info as i can and i've attached pics, so i apllogise if it's lengthy.

i got my first ever dbox2 on thursday from eBay which was supposed to be plug and play and i've had nothing but problems!

it's a Nokia 2xi, with sportster pro v1.73 ultra image.

i have it connected to my nthell line in my bedroom (ex-broadband line). when i do a channel scan on sys6887, it only finds maybe around 9, 24, 51 transponders (the amount of transponders differ every scan) of them transponders it usually only finds around 8 to 27 TV channels.

of these, there's only about 8 that are perfect (qvc, paramount comedy2, bid up, and some asian channels) the rest are just black screen with skit'ish sound, occasionally a broken/distorted screen with appear. despite the signal bar on the epg looking healthy?

i have tried my box with the nthell connection downstairs (currently subscrible to nthell tv downstairs), it finds 200+ channels and of them, the only ones that work are the movie and sports channels (the occasional skip/freeze). the rest of the 200+ channels are black picture with skit'ish sound.

the genuine nthell box downstairs is perfect (2 months old samsung box). i have tried this with the connection in my bedroom and it has all the channels and is perfect.

i have opened the main grey nthell box on the ouside of the house, this has a splitter on it, one cable running to the downstairs tv, the other running to my bedroom, it looks like the nthell engineers have botched the wires (see attached pics)

i have aslo opened the little white box on my bedroom wall and it too has a splitter on it. the other cable from this splitter goes to my mum and dads computer in the room next to mine. so there is a total of 3 connections in our house. 1 has just tv, the other has tv and broadband.