New to digital satellite - need advice

wriggler

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi im a newbie when it comes to satellites but im old school with digital cable.

I have changed the LNB on my satellite dish to a universal digital one as the old one was analogue. I am in the process of lining it up with hotbird. I want to watch polish tv like polsat etc.

Now i still have no reciever, i was wondering which would be the easiest to setup my dish and later on to watch tv with. I have read a little on dreambox's and technomate recievers. I was thinking of buying a technomate reciever to start off with, but i don't know which one to buy.

I dont know 100% what needs to be done with either of these boxes. I presume you dont need a card to watch pay per view (ppv) with these recievers. Some on Ebay are patched but i've no idea what that means? Unless its something like altering the software. Besides the reciever, sat dish, am i good to go to watch ppv.

Im mainly after Polish channels like polsat, tvp1, tvp2 etc im not sure what encrytion is used but can i use a technomate to watch them?

I can afford the TM-3100D, TM3300 2CA and TM1500CI. Which is best for me? I dont require HD yet.

Do i need to buy a CAM like a diablo cam or can i just emulate one using the technomate?

Thanks in advance.

No cams and cards are needed m8 just patch the receiver and away you go. As for the receiver I would personally go for either a Tecnomate TM-5400 CI+ or TM-3400 CI+.

Hi sakiblateef,

Thanks for the reply, how are they patched? I mean can you use a ethernet cable and ftp to the box or is it serial cable to com port or can it be done another way? Perhaps USB or HDD etc. How is it done on the Tm3400 etc? Thanks.

Also is it possible to decrypt nagra encryption that is used for Polish channels like Polsat, TVP1, etc.

Thanks.