New superhub being tested

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Reaction score
1,283
Location
Essex
FYI, there is a new superhub being tested at the moment. Couple of improvements apparently include an external/detachable antenna and support for 2.4 & 5 GHz wireless.

This is actually the second new superhub tested, a different model was tested earlier this year and that was apparently rejected.

If all goes well then distribution is due to start in Q3, no news yet on what happens to existing super hub owners.
 

jamesyboyjim

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
5,235
Reaction score
1,452
Location
CWS =
wow can you imagine just how bad the rejected super hub was :Laugh:

As for existing super dud users, I'd expect we'd only get new hardware if we log it as faulty and the engineer happens to be carrying a new style one on the day.
 
Last edited:

Manse

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
2,077
Reaction score
539
Location
Black Country
just hope you can turn down the disco lights on it, i slept on the sofa for a night over weekend and every 10mins or so the bloody thing would go mental and light up the room with flashing blue lights, thought the cops was gonna kick the door down .
ended up flipping the switch off
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Reaction score
1,283
Location
Essex
Usb port will come in handy for networking a drive :)

Apparently currently disabled but don't know if you would be hack the firmware to re-enable or VM might do it.
 

Exos

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
5,276
Reaction score
3,124
Location
Rat's Bedroom
Exos is going to be even more pissed off. :)

I've taken my fight to the VM forum now Danforth......

Just discovered another fault (whey they are aware of but haven't fixed and have no immediate intention to)
 

danforth

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
1,554
Reaction score
1,043
Location
South Yorkshire
I've taken my fight to the VM forum now Danforth......

Just discovered another fault (whey they are aware of but haven't fixed and have no immediate intention to)

Bet they're loving you !

Will have a look over there later. :)
 

jay 210

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 16, 2006
Messages
2,216
Reaction score
22
Location
Here And There
wrong moe soz i was looking at the vmdg480 motherboard rs232points when i saw this thread
 

Fleabum

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
67
Reaction score
8
I have one of these, was a fight to get one, but very happy with it at the moment. I get 127MB/sec down and 12Mb/sec upload.

Sweet being able to use 5 and 2.4 wireless at the same time.

Regards
Flea
 

Napster

Global Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
18,786
Reaction score
6,842
Location
Black Country
I phoned them today about these new superhub 2 and they wanted me to upgrade to 60mb connection which they double to 120, plus £49.95 one off fee, soon told them where to go, been a costomer since blueyonder started you think it would count for something. BLOODY T*******ers.
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Reaction score
1,283
Location
Essex
I phoned them today about these new superhub 2 and they wanted me to upgrade to 60mb connection which they double to 120, plus £49.95 one off fee, soon told them where to go, been a costomer since blueyonder started you think it would count for something. BLOODY T*******ers.

Damm, I am hoping to wangle one of these and a TiVO box off them for just the price of postage. Still using one of the old separate modems / routers with my 120mb connection at the moment.
 

Napster

Global Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
18,786
Reaction score
6,842
Location
Black Country
you will get a modem but i bet they still ask fo £49.95 you wait and see.
 

mmonster

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
222
Reaction score
67
Happy with my current Superhub which I had for 2 years and Tivo box which I had for just a year. So when virgin media rang me yesterday to renew my deal I was happy with the deal I got. Keep everything as it is (30mbit BB, M+ TV package, landline with weekend calls + 1 month free all for £25.99 p/m).

Out of interest for those who got 100mbit/120mbit do you actually get to use the full download/upload speed most of the time? I contemplated the idea of upgrading to 60mbit but the 30mbit at the moment seems to be more than enough for my needs. Also does anyone know if they double the 30mbit speed or is it only for higher speeds?
 

Ferret

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
14,119
Reaction score
8,887
Location
Yorkshire Born & Bred Leeds !
Out of interest for those who got 100mbit/120mbit do you actually get to use the full download/upload speed most of the time? I contemplated the idea of upgrading to 60mbit but the 30mbit at the moment seems to be more than enough for my needs. Also does anyone know if they double the 30mbit speed or is it only for higher speeds?

Ill be honest maxing out a 100mb line takes some doing but ive seen it in short burst, its dependent on where your downloading from.

But yeah you can max out the upload if you want.
 

jamesyboyjim

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
5,235
Reaction score
1,452
Location
CWS =
Out of interest for those who got 100mbit/120mbit do you actually get to use the full download/upload speed most of the time? I contemplated the idea of upgrading to 60mbit but the 30mbit at the moment seems to be more than enough for my needs. Also does anyone know if they double the 30mbit speed or is it only for higher speeds?

If I'm torrenting one thing from a private tracker I can quite often max out my 120mb line yeah :) can hit 13mb/s down and 11mb/s up, much more common to see downloads around 7mb/s for me though
 
TEST
Top