New box advice

JonMMM

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
1,963
Reaction score
550
Its been quite a while since I have looked at new box but I think now is the time.

It will just be used foe FreeSat, I have a sky dish with duel feeds, I cannot change the dish feeds etc as I live in a rented flat and not sure if the dish feeds any other flats (and it would be against my tenancy agreement).

I am looking for a HD box (I dont fave a UHD TV but dont mind future proofing if the cost is not a lot different). It needs to have 2 sat tuners but this is where I get confused everything is now saying DVB-S2X multistream whould that give me more simultaneous channels or would it require a change of LNB etc?

It also needs to be Enigma2 as I share the channels around the flat in Kodi.

Thanks in advance

Jon
 

Ferret

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
14,113
Reaction score
8,880
Location
Yorkshire Born & Bred Leeds !
I dont think you would go far wrong with the Zegemma H9.2s under £70

ARM processor with 1500MHz Quad-core CPU

  • Hi3798MV200 Main chipset
    More than 4.10x linux kernel
    DVB-S2X+DVB-S2X twin tuner built-in
    Support 4K- 2160p
    256MB NAND Flash / 1GB DDR3 Memory
    1x Smartcard Reader
    WIFI 300MHZ Built-in
    SD card (TF card) for recording, 8GB, 64GB, 128GB (optional)
    1 x USB2.0
    1x HDMI 2.0
    MPEG-2 / H.264 and H.265 Hardware Decoding
    HEVC / H.265 2160p60 Main-10 multi-format decoder
    10/100 Mbit Ethernet Interface
    Multimedia plug-in supported
    Advanced EPG (Electronic Program Guide)
    User-friendly linux Menu system
    Full automatic service scan
    Various OSD skins supported
    Various Channel Editing Programs
    Easy and fast software-upgrade via USB
    Low deep-standby power consumption under 1 W
    Parental Control
    Plugin Service
    Excellent sound quality in Dolby Digital
    OSD into many languages and graphics (Skins)
    Web interface, WEB Remote control
    DiSEqC 1.0 / 1.1 / 1.2 and USALS
    External power supply 12V 3A
 

cactikid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
2,100
Reaction score
728
Sorry boss H7 is a better box with less issues as the list of issues is growing with the H9,i actually won in a raffle but updated it to a H7 as told less issues
 

Ferret

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
14,113
Reaction score
8,880
Location
Yorkshire Born & Bred Leeds !
Sorry boss H7 is a better box with less issues as the list of issues is growing with the H9,i actually won in a raffle but updated it to a H7 as told less issues

I own a H9 i manage fine and he only wanted FTA so figured he be fine, the H7 is a good box but id go with JohnMMM's own suggestion of the Gigablue if a good FBC tuner is what is required.
 

JonMMM

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
1,963
Reaction score
550
I own a H9 i manage fine and he only wanted FTA so figured he be fine, the H7 is a good box but id go with JohnMMM's own suggestion of the Gigablue if a good FBC tuner is what is required.

From what I understand the FBC will not work with my current dish / LNB / cable set up
 

cactikid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
2,100
Reaction score
728
Cable is cable to receive a signal,lnb on a shared system you have no control off in changing it.
 

Abu Baniaz

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,330
Reaction score
2,497
Location
East London
You don't need to change anything. An FBC tuner will work with any LNB that a "normal" tuner can work with.

That being said, if you are unlikely to record more than two channels at a time, you don't need an FBC tuner.
 

JonMMM

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
1,963
Reaction score
550
You don't need to change anything. An FBC tuner will work with any LNB that a "normal" tuner can work with.

That being said, if you are unlikely to record more than two channels at a time, you don't need an FBC tuner.

Not looking at recording so much as sharing the tuners around the house with kodi
 

Abu Baniaz

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,330
Reaction score
2,497
Location
East London
An FBC tuner (always comes with two physical connections) with ordinary/universal LNB setup is better than two ordinary tuners with ordinary/universal LNB setup. This is because the other 6 demodulators on an FBC tuner module will be loop-through tuners automatically.

An FBC tuner will work with ordinary/universal LNB
An FBC tuner will work with Unicable/JESS LNB
An ordinary tuner will work with ordinary/universal LNB
An ordinary tuner will work with Unicable/JESS LNB

To get the most out of an FBC tuner, you need a Jess/unicable2 LNB. This will allow you to set the 8 demodulators individually. If you do not have a unicable LNB, an ordinary LNB can be used, you will have 2 configured tuners (if both have cables hooked up) and 6 loop-through tuners.

FBC tuners are one technology. Jess/Unicable/Unicable 2 is another technology. They are independent. Somehow people think you need both, this is not correct. Combining the two technolgies gives the best results, but they can both be used independently.
 
TEST
Top