iPhone Help and tips to unlock iPhone 4 please

Gerryd13

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi guys I'm a noob when it comes to stuff like this. I have a iPhone 4 and I thought it was sim free but when I put a t mobile sim in it says no service but works for O2 so how do I unlock my phone do I need to jail break it also its using version 6.1.3 so can I jailbreak it or not?!

thanks

I have just unlocked my old iPhone 4 and the only way to properly unlock it was to contact my provider and pay them . I don't believe with the software version you are on you will be able to unlock it either.

I was under the impression O2 didn't lock their phones though?

Well I got the phone from buy as you view so I assumed it was sim free and not on any carrier..... But I'm using giff gaff at the moment but want to go on t mobile but as soon as I stick the sim in it says no service and I can't change the carrier or search for a new network

Just had a quick look and it seems that the phone locks to the first carrier used. Bit crap that mind. Sounds like you would have to get onto apple in that situation. Not sure pay as you view would be able to help.

Just had a quick look and it seems that the phone locks to the first carrier used. Bit crap that mind. Sounds like you would have to get onto apple in that situation. Not sure pay as you view would be able to help.

Yea I was looking too and it seems these "unlocked" phones are not so unlocked once you put a sim in?! But I don't think apple can help either I think it's got to be the provider

I would try apple as the provider didn't provide the phone. At the very least apple will be able to tell you. It is daft as the provider get the phone unlocked by apple lol