Hardware hdmi extender not working

johnny bravo

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
3,655
Likes
77
#1
hi guys - got a toshiba laptop. 1080p, with all the bells and whistles, it has hdmi port..at the moment i have a 10m hdmi cable that works fine with my laptop and tv, i wanted to extend the hdmi lead by about another 3m, so i bought one and THIS hdmi adaptor, it worked fine for only once and now the adaptor doesnt get picked up by windows 10 when i have it connected inbetween the two cable, the individual cables ie 10m and the 3m hdmi are working fine withoyt the hdmi adaptor as i checked them out...any ideas?..does it need drivers or anything..?
 

digi247

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
3,219
Likes
194
#2
Its the adaptor seeing as your Pushing power through the HDMI cables any breakage including adaptors will show up as a weak link, nothing like a straight through cable or even better Cat5E HDMI extenders
 

trevortron

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2013
Messages
2,563
Likes
275
#4
Its the adaptor seeing as your Pushing power through the HDMI cables any breakage including adaptors will show up as a weak link, nothing like a straight through cable or even better Cat5E HDMI extenders
A customer (who like playing about himself first) asked me to extend HDMI to another room, using cat5 extenders he'd bought. There was roughly 30m of cat5 (2 runs) between the locations. The first extender pair worked for a few seconds, blanked out then worked again for a few sec's. This set was only powered at one end. Then I tried the other one, which had a power supply at each end and that worked fine- except the IR return- that wouldn't work with either.
Common issues?
 

digi247

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
3,219
Likes
194
#5
A customer (who like playing about himself first) asked me to extend HDMI to another room, using cat5 extenders he'd bought. There was roughly 30m of cat5 (2 runs) between the locations. The first extender pair worked for a few seconds, blanked out then worked again for a few sec's. This set was only powered at one end. Then I tried the other one, which had a power supply at each end and that worked fine- except the IR return- that wouldn't work with either.
Common issues?
I would suppose that would depend on the brand and quality of the Extenders i have never used the Cheap £30-£40 range as most are just cheap chines clones always used a brand like wyrestorm or similar not cheap but have been working on installs about 2 years without problems
 

Oily

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
1,124
Likes
18
#6
I used a 15m CAT6 balun kit from Scan computers to connect to my PJ,had no issues with it so far
 

alimac

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
6,541
Likes
927
#7
careful with posts looking like you hunting a download
you need to post useful info
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,192
Likes
591
#8
A customer (who like playing about himself first) asked me to extend HDMI to another room, using cat5 extenders he'd bought. There was roughly 30m of cat5 (2 runs) between the locations. The first extender pair worked for a few seconds, blanked out then worked again for a few sec's. This set was only powered at one end. Then I tried the other one, which had a power supply at each end and that worked fine- except the IR return- that wouldn't work with either.
Common issues?
I have a retired friend that helps out in a library and he tried to extend something on HDMI using CAT6 (I think it was CAT6, rip off cable anyway, could do it on CAT4 never mind 6...) with powered units at both end and it doesn't work. I think he said it was a 50 foot cable run.

Told him to try it with a short Ethernet cable just to prove the units work but don't know the result yet.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
2
Likes
0
#9
HDMI cable quality really makes a difference. In my humble experience, they are not made all the same.
 
TEST
Top